• Loading KStateSports Tweets...
    1 second ago

Sports Extra Heads West


May 19, 2014
By Kelly McHugh

Ready, set, go!

K-State Sports Extra is about to take you on a week-long 700-mile tour of Western Kansas as K-State Athletics heads west to kick off the 2014 Catbacker Tour.

Beginning today in Dodge City and ending on Friday in Hays, I'll be taking a deeper look at the unique tour and it's exciting stops along the way.

From golf outings with some of the nation's most passionate Wildcat fans to kids clinics where some of the littlest Wildcats will have the opportunity to meet a few of their favorite student-athletes, I'm excited to have this opportunity to share more about the "Western Swing" with the K-State Sports Extra faithful!

Though it will be my first time traveling to western Kansas, I recently visited with Voice of the Wildcats Wyatt Thompson, who has been on the tour 12 times, to ask him about the Western Swing. He said there's nothing else quite like it.

"We go to five places that basically love the Cats and love K-State," began Thompson who, like me, is excited to get on the road. "They're tickled to death we're there, they just treat the coaches and kids (student-athletes) like royalty."

The week's set up looks a little something like this:

Monday - drive to Dodge City for golf, kids' activities and an evening Catbackers banquet before heading to Garden City
Tuesday - golf, kids' activities and an evening Catbackers banquet in Garden City
Wednesday - special evening Catbackers banquet in Scott City
Thursday - more golfing, kids' activities and an evening Catbackers banquet in Colby
 Friday - conclude the Western Swing with golf and a final Catbackers banquet in Hays

"It's kind of like a unique vacation in a way because you're gone a workweek," continued Thompson. "It goes fast; going from one town to another. For the kids that have not been there, they're just seeing a different way of life, but they quickly see how these people love K-State. It's a unique experience, you'll see it."

There is no doubt it will be a unique experience, and I'm excited to have this opportunity to meet and share about some of the nation's most passionate purple fans.

Fasten your seatbelts, K-State Sports Extra readers; we're heading west.

While the Catbacker tour will spend the next week traveling through western Kansas, throughout the summer it will travel all across the state. Click here for more on this year's Catbacker Tour.

The 2014 K-State Catbacker Tour Schedule:

Monday, May 19 - Dodge City
Tuesday, May 20 - Garden City
Wednesday, May 21 - Scott City
Thursday, May 22 - Colby
Friday, May 23 - Heartland/Hays
Monday, June 2 - N. Centeral Kansas
Wednesday, June 4 - Winfield
Thursday, June 5 - Kansas City
Friday, June 6 - Great Bend
Saturday, June 7 - Winfield
Monday, June 9 -Belleville
Tuesday, June 10 - Salina
Wednesday, June 11 - Atchison
Thursday, June 12 - KC Northland
Friday, June 13 - Marysville
Saturday, June 14 - Junction City/Ellsworth
Tuesday, June 17 - McPherson/Hutchinson 
Wednesday, June 18 - Wichita
Thursday, June 19 - Emporia
Friday, June 20 - Manhattan
Tuesday, June 24 - Iola
Friday, June 27 - Wellington
Saturday, June 28 - Emporia
Thursday, July 24 - Topeka
Saturday, August 2 - Lawrence
Monday, August 4 - Topeka
Monday, August 11 - Wichita
Saturday, August 23 - Junction City

 

We hope you enjoy K-State Sports Extra. We would like to hear your comments and any story ideas for future emails, so fire them our way. Contact Kelly McHugh or K-State Assistant AD for Communications Kenny Lannou.