210 Named to Big 12 Fall Honor Roll

IRVING, Texas -The Big 12 Conference released its 2009 Fall Commissioner's Honor Roll on Wednesday with a total of 210 Kansas State student-athletes making the list.  The conference recognizes all student-athletes at its member institutions during each semester with a 3.0 GPA or higher.

Of the 210 K-State student-athletes recognized for their academic excellence, 49 of them posted a perfect 4.0 GPA in the Fall 2009 semester. K-State, which currently ranks No. 1 in the Big 12 in graduation rate for all student-athletes, has placed 200 or more student-athletes on the honor roll for five straight semesters.

"Our student-athletes continue to excel in the classroom and these accomplishments are a reflection of their commitment to making academics a top priority," said K-State Athletics Director John Currie. "I also want to commend Jill Shields (Assistant AD for Student Services) for her leadership and our academic support staff, coaches and University faculty for the important role they play in the success of our student-athletes."

Rowing led all Wildcat athletic teams with 47 honorees on the honor roll, including 12 student-athletes with perfect 4.0 GPAs.  Other totals by sport include equestrian (36), football (32), men's track and field (21), women's track and field (20), baseball (15), volleyball (11), men's golf (8), women's basketball (7), women's golf (5), women's tennis (5) and men's basketball (3).

The 49 Wildcats named to the list with a perfect 4.0 GPA in the fall include: Jason King (baseball), Laura Hildebrandt (women's golf), Hanna Roos (women's golf), Abbi Sunner (women's golf), Carmen Borau Ramos (women's tennis), Natasha Vieira (women's tennis), Laura Browne (equestrian), Kyla Copple (equestrian), Alyssa Freeman (equestrian), Nicole Keenan (equestrian), Josie Kness (equestrian), Larisaa Laffey (equestrian), Catherine Mellon (equestrian), Mikaela Sundgren (equestrian), Courtney Watters (equestrian), JuliAnne Chisholm (volleyball), Audrey Horton (volleyball), Kari Kincaid (women's basketball), Chris Merriewether (men's basketball), Alyssa Bellinder (women's track), Chelsie Bonds (women's track), Emily Dittemore (women's track), Meriel Harwood (women's track), Stephanie Hejde (women's track), Nina Kokot (women's track), Sydney Messick (women's track), Megan-Anne Perrin (women's track), Ali Pistora (women's track), Annika Schoenenbeck (women's track), Martina Tresch (women's track), Moritz Cleve (men's track), Ryan Hershberger (men's track), Jack Sachse (men's track), Katie Arrow (rowing), Michelle Bergman (rowing), Rebecca Bohling (rowing), Nicole Burdiek (rowing), Weatherly Butler (rowing), Whitley Jackson (rowing), Megan Kirtland (rowing) Samantha McCloud (rowing), Alyssa Sams (rowing), Jacqueline Swab (rowing), Amanda Weishaar (rowing), Hanna Wiltfong (rowing), Oladipo Fajimolu (football), Ian Peters (football), Nick Stringer (football), Brock Unruh (football).