Wyatt Thompson Honored with Hod Humiston Award

Wyatt Thompson

April 8, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Wyatt Thompson, Voice of the Wildcats since 2002, has been selected as the 2011 recipient of the Hod Humiston Sportscaster of the Year Award, the Kansas Association of Broadcasters has announced.

The award is named for Hod Humiston of Hutchinson, who was the first television sportscaster in Kansas for KTVH (now KWCH TV) in Wichita, and was established in 1979 to recognize broadcasters who have made significant contributions to sports broadcasting. Thompson will be honored with the award at the annual KAB Sports Seminar May 4 at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City.

“The state of Kansas has a very rich tradition of terrific sports broadcasters and the KAB is privileged to be able to honor one each year with this award,” said KAB President Kent Cornish. “Wyatt exemplifies that tradition as he has worked his way to the pinnacle of his career announcing for an outstanding university athletic program like Kansas State.”

Thompson is in his ninth year as the play-by-play voice of the Wildcats. He started his broadcasting career in 1976 as a sportscaster for various high schools, colleges and universities in Kansas, spending time at stations in Great Bend and Abilene. He worked for KAYS radio and television in Hays from 1985 until 1989, where he was the play-by-play voice at Fort Hays State.

While in Kansas, he was recognized with the Kansas Association of Broadcasters Play-by-Play Award in 1982 and the Oscar Stauffer Sportscaster of the Year Award in 1989.

Thompson came to Kansas State from Colorado State, where he was the play-by-play voice for CSU's football and men's basketball teams for five years.

An accomplished professional, Thompson won the Colorado Broadcasting Association award for best play-by-play in 2000. In addition to his duties at CSU, Thompson was also a sports reporter for Clear Channel Denver, the Countdown to Kickoff host for the Denver Broncos on KOA Radio and hosted the Zone Sports Insiders show on 760 The Zone in Denver.

Previous winners of the award include K-State’s Dev Nelson (1980) and Mitch Holthus (1995). The KAB is a statewide trade association serving a membership of free-over-the-air radio and television broadcast stations.