Ahearn Fund Fishing Tourney Results

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Approximately 175 anglers enjoyed ideal weather conditions this past weekend during the sixth annual Ahearn Fund Fishing Tournament and helped raise funds to benefit scholarships for student-athletes in the Kansas State athletics department.

The event, presented by the Geary County Convention and Visitors Bureau, took place on Milford Lake in Junction City and saw 94 total entries earn over $7,100 in prize money.

"We truly appreciate the competitors who participated in this past weekend's tournament as we raised nearly $20,000 for the Ahearn Fund," said Assistant Athletics Director Lon Floyd. "We had a great turnout again this year and are proud to say that in the six-year history of this event, we have generated over $100,000 for student-athlete welfare."

Tim Strunk of Manhattan and Randy Landreville of Junction City earned a first-place prize of $1,288 in the Bass division with a total weight of 10.61 pounds, while Josh and Darrell Brown of El Dorado finished second with total weight of 10.14 pounds and a prize of $805.  Craig and Joseph Koblitz of Paola took first place in the Walleye division with a total catch of 4.39 pounds and a prize of $924, while Kris Schortmann of Milford and Tim Hedges of Frankfort earned a second-place prize of $578 for their catch of 2.57 pounds.

Virgil Brown and Clinton Young of Olpe were the winners in the Catfish category, as their catch of 77.45 pounds earned them a prize of $350. Charles Schiffelbein of Tecumseh and Scott Bredow of Topeka were second and the recipients of a $210 prize in the division for their catch of 41.75 pounds.  Doug (Wamego) and Aaron VonFelt of Manhattan earned a first-place prize of $420 in the White Bass division with a total weight of 14.43 pounds, while Bill Burwell and Bob Engle of Abilene took second and a $252 prize with a total catch of 12.51 pounds. Joe Warren of Topeka and Daniel Roether picked up $500 as they caught the largest wiper, weighing in at 5.95 pounds.

Gifts to the Ahearn Fund, Kansas State's National Fund for Athletics and Academic Excellence, are used for scholarships, sports medicine, academic support and other services that directly benefit K-State student-athletes while also funding K-State's margin of excellence through enhancement such as recruiting budgets and coaches salaries.

For more information, or to become a member for as little as $50 per year, visit www.ahearnfund.com or call (785) 532-7715.

Ahearn Fund Fishing Tournament Results


  • 1 Tim Strunk, Manhattan - Randy Landreville, Junction City; 10.61; $1,288
  • 2 Josh Brown, El Dorado - Darrell Brown, El Dorado; 10.14; $805
  • 3 Doug Smith, Junction City - Ronnie Grice, Manhattan; 10.09; $483
  • 4 Brad Taylor, Wichita - Cole Schmidt, Newton; 9.93; $322
  • 5 Chris Scherbring, Abilene - Jason Baird, Gypsum; 9.92; $161
  • 6 David Wardlow, Junction City - David Wardlow, Jr.; 9.90; $80
  • 7 Duane Miller, Riley - Debbie Miller, Riley; 9.69; $80


  • 1 Craig Koblitz, Paola - Joseph Koblitz, Paola; 4.39; $924
  • 2 Kris Schortmann, Milford - Tim Hedges, Frankfort; 2.57; $5.78
  • 3 Todd Kaniper, Gypsum - Morgan Kaniper, Gypsum; 2.52; $347
  • 4 Rich Anderson, McPherson - Willard Childres, McPherson; 1.78; $231

White Bass

  • 1 Doug VonFelt, Wamego - Aaron VonFelt, Manhattan; 14.43; $420
  • 2 Bill Burwell, Abilene - Bob Engle, Abilene; 12.51; $252
  • 3 Kyle Horning, Spearville - Dan Konrade, Spearville; 12.35; $168


  • 1 Virgil Brown, Olpe - Clinton Young; 77.45; $350
  • 2 Charles Schiffelbein, Tecumseh - Scott Bredow, Topeka; 41.75; $210
  • 3 Lane Ramsey, Salina - Dale Ramsey, Abilene; 26.35; $70
  • 4 Kevin Parks, LeRoy - James Webster, Burlington; 26.35; $70