K-State Celebrates Powercat Choice Awards

Brittany Chambers

May 7, 2013

Photo Gallery

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State celebrated another outstanding year on Tuesday night as student-athletes from each of the school’s 16 varsity sports converged on Bramlage Coliseum for the fourth annual Mark A. Chapman Powercat Choice Awards.

The ceremony resembles the ESPY Awards and includes all team and individual highlights from the past year both on the field and in the classroom.  All the performance-related awards were voted on by members of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).  The voting was based on the accomplishments of sporting teams from Spring 2012 to Winter 2013.

Top team honors on the night went to the 2012 football and women’s volleyball squads. Both teams’ success in the fall jump-started a year that saw K-State become just the third Big 12 school to win conference titles in football and men’s basketball in the league’s history and the 11th BCS school to do so since 1996.

Equestrian captured the Wildcat Cup on the night for its excellence in the five core areas of student-athlete well-being: academics, athletics, career, personal and service.

Erik Kynard (men’s track and field) took Male Athlete of the Year honors for the second straight year following Big 12 and NCAA high jump titles in addition to a silver medal at the London Olympics, which was also selected as the Showstopping Moment of the Year. Senior Brittany Chambers of the women’s basketball team won Female Athlete of the Year honors after receiving First Team All-Big 12 accolades and wrapping up her Wildcat career as one of the program’s best players.

Cliff Rovelto (track and field) was named Coach of the Year after leading the men’s track and field squads to a fourth-place Big 12 finish and also tutoring three Team USA high jumpers at the London Olympics including Kynard.

Mariah White (women’s basketball) was named Best Female Athlete in a Supporting Role, while Martavious Irving (men’s basketball) took honors as the Top Male Athlete in a Supporting Role after the school’s Big 12 title run this past season.

In addition, Jharyl Bowry (men’s track and field) and Merryl Mbeng (women’s track and field) were named the male and female Newcomers of the Year, while Ifeanyi Otuonye (men’s track and field) and Bri Craig (women’s basketball) took top male and female Freshman of the Year honors.

The recipient of the Most Inspirational Award was Devin Dick of the men’s track and field team, while Kathleen Ludwig of the volleyball team earned the Purple Pride Award, which is given to the student-athlete who demonstrates the most school spirit. 

Several individuals were honored for their academic excellence during the evening, highlighted by Collin Klein (football) and Brittany Chambers (women’s basketball) earning the Kansas State Male and Female Scholar-Athlete Awards

Sam Etsell (equestrian) and Randall Evans (football) were this year’s recipients of the Bob and Lila Snell Award of Excellence and Effort, recognizing the outstanding male and female student-athletes who improved their academic standing through sustained effort and commitment to learning.

Jordan Henriquez (men’s basketball) was honored with the Gina Sylvester Memorial Award.  The award recognizes an arts and sciences student who has progressed toward graduation and used the advising system to overcome challenges.

Tre Walker (football) and Samantha McKnight (women’s track and field) was the recipient of the Veryl and Fern Switzer Campus Leadership Award.  The award recognizes a student-athlete who is involved in student organizations and multicultural affairs, demonstrates leadership on a team and on campus, and is active in community service.

Samantha McCloud (rowing) was awarded the Scholastic Achievement Award, which recognizes a senior letterwinner with the highest cumulative grade-point average in undergraduate work.  She has a perfect 4.0 in architecture, planning and design, one of K-State’s most demanding programs.

The athletics department, which has led the Big 12 Conference in overall graduation rate in four of the past six seasons, has had another outstanding academic year in 2012-13. More than half of all Wildcat student-athletes earned a 3.0 GPA or higher in Fall 2012, while 89 have been named Academic All-Big 12 this season.

2012-13 Mark A. Chapman Powercat Choice Awards

Athletic Award Winners
Male Newcomer of the Year - Jharyl Bowry, men's track & field
Female Newcomer of the Year - Merryl Mbeng, women's track & field
Male Freshman of the Year - Ifeanyi Otuonye, men's track & field
Female Freshman of the Year - Bri Craig, women's basketball
Best Supporting Male Athlete of the Year - Martavious Irving, men's basketball
Best Supporting Female Athlete of the Year - Mariah White, women's basketball
Purple Pride Award - Kathleen Ludwig, volleyball
Most Inspirational Award - Devin Dick, men's track & field
Men's Team of the Year - Football
Women's Team of the Year - Volleyball
Coach of the Year - Cliff Rovelto, track & field
Showstopping Moment of the Year - Erik Kynard High Jump Silver Medalist at Olympics
Female Athlete of the Year - Brittany Chambers, women's basketball
Male Athlete of the Year - Erik Kynard, men's track & field
Academic Award Winners
Scholastic Achievement Award - Samantha McCloud
Bob & Lila Snell Academic Award for Excellence & Effort - Randall Evans
Bob & Lila Snell Academic Award for Excellence & Effort - Sam Etsell
Gina Sylvester Memorial Award - Jordan Henriquez
Veryl & Fern Switzer Campus Leadership Award - Tre Walker
Veryl & Fern Switzer Campus Leadership Award - Samantha McKnight
Male Scholar Athlete of the Year - Collin Klein
Female Scholar Athlete of the Year - Brittany Chambers
Senior SAAC Recognition
Martavious Irving
Brittany Chambers
Mariah White
Whitney Pyle
Karla Bonacic
Erik Kynard
Sam McKnight
Kathleen Ludwig
Alex Muff

Wildcat Cup Trophy Winner