Ahearn Fund Hosts Annual Fishing Tournament

2011 Ahearn Fund Fishing Tourney

May 10, 2011

Photo Gallery

Ideal weather conditions greeted approximately 160 anglers this past weekend during the seventh annual Ahearn Fund Fishing Tournament and helped raise funds to benefit scholarships for student-athletes in the Kansas State athletics department.

The event, presented by the Geary County Convention and Visitors Bureau and Shoreline Boat and RV Repair, took place on Milford Lake in Junction City and saw 79 total entries earn over $7,000 in prize money.

Nathen Kozlowski of Junction City and Lance Maldonado of Chapman earned a first-place prize of $1,670 in the Bass division with a total weight of 12.90 pounds, while Duane and Deb Miller of Riley finished second with total weight of 11.55 pounds and a prize of $927. Gary Ulmer and Brandon Deitrick of Junction City took first place in the Walleye division with a total catch of 12.60 pounds and a prize of $910, while Alan Paul of Galva and James Coffey of McPherson earned a second-place prize of $546 for their catch of 11.75 pounds.

David Basil of Grandview Plaza and Keven Grunwald of Junction City were the winners in the Catfish category, as their catch of 66.15 pounds earned them a prize of $343. James Diehl of Topeka and Delmar Thowe of Alma were second and the recipients of a $147 prize in the division for their catch of 34.15 pounds.  Doug (Wamego) and Aaron VonFelt of Manhattan earned a first-place prize of $686 in the White Bass division with a total weight of 14.75 pounds, while John (Manhattan) and James Miesner of Oberlin took second and a $294 prize with a total catch of 14.35 pounds. Jerry Dillon of Papillion, Neb., picked up $250 from Bammes Electric for catching the largest wiper, weighing in at 7.40 pounds.

Gifts to the Ahearn Fund, Kansas State’s National Fund for Athletics and Academic Excellence, are used for scholarships, sports medicine, academic support and other services that directly benefit K-State student-athletes while also funding K-State’s margin of excellence through enhancement such as recruiting budgets and coaches salaries.

For more information, or to become a member for as little as $50 per year, visit www.ahearnfund.com or call (785) 532-7715.

2011 Ahearn Fund Fishing Tournament Results

1. Nathen Kozlowski, Junction City; 12.90 lbs.; $1670
Lance Maldonado, Chapman

2. Duane Miller, Riley; 11.55; $927
Deb Miller, Riley

3. Cliff Bammes, Manhattan; 10.25; $558
Greg Wege, Wheaton

4. Jason Baird, Gypsum; 10.05; $370
Chris Scherbring, Abilene       
1. Gary Ulmer, Junction City; 12.60; $910
Brandon Deitrick, Junction City

2. Alan Paul, Galva; 11.75; $546
James Coffey, McPherson

3. Kyle Altvater, Hutchinson; 11.60; $364
Clay Boan; Gardner

4. Adam Swisher, Hutchinson; 9.90; $182
Russ Vanover, Newton
White Bass
1. Doug Vonfeldt, Wamego; 14.75; $686
Aaron Vonfelt, Manhattan     

2. John Miesner, Manhattan; 14.35; $294
James Miesner, Oberlin
1. David Basil, Grandview Plaza; 66.15; $343
Keven Grunwald, Junction City   

2. James Diehl, Topeka; 34.15; $147
Delmar Thowe, Alma