K-State’s Lewis Named to Preseason All-Big 12 Team

MANHATTAN, Kansas – Kansas State’s Breanna Lewis was recognized on Wednesday by the Big 12 Conference’s women’s basketball coaches, as she was named a 2016-17 Preseason All-Big 12 selection. This is Lewis’s second Preseason All-Big 12 selection as she was an Honorable Mention recipient prior to the 2015-16 season.

Joining Lewis on the 2016-17 Preseason All-Big 12 Team were: Nina Davis and Alexis Jones of Baylor, Seanna Johnson of Iowa State and Brooke McCarty of Texas.

Lewis, a product of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, has been one of the most dominant centers in the Big 12 over the last two seasons, as she is a two-time All-Big 12 selection including a first team member in 2015-16 and a two-time Big 12 All-Defensive Team selection.

Last season, Lewis led the Wildcats in a number of statistical categories, including: points (535; 16.7 ppg), field goals made and attempted (231-of-420; .550), rebounds (241; 7.5 rpg) and double-doubles (7). Lewis ranked fourth in the Big 12 in scoring and field goal percentage, sixth in rebounding, third in blocked shots (82; 2.6 bpg) and fifth in double-doubles (7).

Lewis earned her second career Big 12 All-Defensive honor anchoring one of the Big 12’s top defenses last season. She was responsible for 52.2 percent of K-State’s blocked shots and set the school record for blocked shots in a two-year span with 179.

During her career year in 2015-16, Lewis became the first player in program history to register the combination of 525 or more points, 225 or more rebounds, 80 or more blocks and 45 or more steals in a season. Lewis also became the 39th player in program history to join the 1,000 career point club and is the 24th player to register 1,000 or more career points and 500 or more career rebounds. She enters this season ranked 32nd in school history with 1,081, tied for 16th in career rebounds with 585 and second for career blocks with 223.

Kansas State will begin its 2016-17 season with an exhibition game on Friday, Nov. 4, against Washburn at 5:3 0 p.m. The Wildcats will begin the non-conference schedule on Friday, Nov. 11, against Chicago State at 5:30 p.m.

Single game tickets for K-State women’s basketball are available now. Prices for single game tickets this season are: $5 for general admission youth military and senior citizens, $8 general admission adult, $9 for reserved bench/cushion seating and $12 for chairback. New this season are discounted general admission tickets when purchased before gameday. Advance GA tickets are only $5, a savings of $3.

Ticket packages are available now for the K-State-Connecticut matchup. A $20 chairback ticket package that includes an exclusive t-shirt is available until Tuesday, December 1 or while supplies last. A $38 Wildcat 4 Pack is another affordable option and includes four general admission tickets and four $10 concessions vouchers.

General admission, bench and Cat Cushion tickets to the UConn game are available now for only $5 from October 3 until gameday, December 11. With more than two months remaining, more than 7,500 tickets have already been purchased for the game. Any remaining tickets will be sold on gameday at regular price: $12 for chairback, $9 for Cat Cushion, and $5 for youth, military and senior citizens.

Season tickets remain available for the 18-game home schedule, while single game tickets go on sale on Monday, Oct. 3 at 8:30 a.m. To purchase K-State women’s basketball tickets through the K-State Athletics Ticket Office by calling (800) 221-CATS, by visiting www.kstatesports.com/tickets or by stopping by the K-State Athletics Ticket Office in Bramlage Coliseum.

2016-17 Preseason All-Big 12 Honors
Preseason Player of the Year: Nina Davis, Baylor
Preseason Newcomer of the Year: Kristina King, West Virginia
Preseason Freshman of the Year: Lauren Cox, Baylor

Preseason All-Big 12 Team
Nina Davis, Baylor; Alexis Jones, Baylor; Seanna Johnson, Iowa State; Breanna Lewis, Kansas State; Brooke McCarty, Texas

Honorable Mention
Kalani Brown, Baylor; Peyton Little, Oklahoma; Vionise Pierre-Louis, Oklahoma; Kaylee Jensen, Oklahoma State; Ariel Atkins, Texas; Tynice Martin, West Virginia; Lanay Montgomery, West Virginia