K-State's Big 12 Schedule Set for 2017 Campaign

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State will open the Big 12 portion of head coach Jeff Mittie’s third season on Thursday, Dec. 29 at defending Big 12 Conference champion Baylor, as the league has announced the complete 2016-17 women’s basketball league schedule.

K-State’s 2016-17 home schedule features 18 home games including: two exhibition games, seven non-conference games and nine Big 12 contests. K-State women’s basketball season tickets for the 2016-17 season are available now for purchase. For more information on season ticket packages for the Wildcats’ 18-game home schedule, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office by calling 1-800-221-CATS or visit www.kstatesports.com/tickets.

The conference schedule features a double round robin format for the sixth-consecutive year consisting of 18 games with squads playing each other twice. The team(s) that finish with the highest winning percentage in league games will be crowned the Big 12 regular season champion. The Big 12 is the only of the five peer conferences in which teams have to face each other twice during the regular season.

The Wildcats and Lady Bears will meet in the league season opener for the second time in the last four years, as the teams opened the 2013-14 Big 12 season in Manhattan.

Kansas State will play six of its nine games in the month of January in Bramlage Coliseum. K-State will begin the home portion of its 2017 league schedule on Sunday, January 1 against West Virginia. The remainder of K-State’s home schedule unfolds as follows: Texas Tech (Jan. 7), Kansas (Jan. 11), TCU (Jan. 18), Baylor (Jan. 25), Oklahoma State (Jan. 28), Iowa State (Feb. 11), Oklahoma (Feb. 21) and Texas (Feb. 27).

In the month of February, the Wildcats will play five of their eight games away from Bramlage Coliseum. After opening at Baylor in late December, K-State’s league road schedule is as follows: at Oklahoma (Jan. 4), at Oklahoma State (Jan. 14), at Iowa State (Jan. 21), at Texas Tech (Feb. 1), at Texas (Feb. 4), at West Virginia (Feb. 15), at TCU (Feb. 18) and at Kansas (Feb. 25).

Oklahoma City’s Chesapeake Energy Arena will host the 2017 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship for the fifth time. The postseason event was also contested in Oklahoma City in 2007, 2009, 2014 and 2016 with a conference-record average attendance of 8,165 recorded in 2007. The women’s championship will remain in Oklahoma City through the 2019 campaign.

Two first round matchups will be played on Friday, March 3, followed by quarterfinals on Saturday, March 4. Semifinals are scheduled for Sunday, March 5 with the final contested on Monday, March 6. The winner earns the Big 12's automatic bid to the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship.

For the 2016-17 season, K-State returns nine letter winners from the 2015-16 squad that reached the second round of the 2016 NCAA Tournament. The Wildcats will be led into the 2016-17 season by 2016 All-Big 12 First Team selection and two-time Big 12 All-Defensive Team honoree Breanna Lewis and 2016 All-Big 12 Second Team selection Kindred Wesemann. Overall, K-State returns 75 percent of its scoring and assists and 87 percent of its rebounding.

In addition to the returning letter winners, Kansas State welcomes in five newcomers for the 2016-17 season including: junior guard Karyla Middlebrook (Blue Springs, Missouri), redshirt freshman forward Lanie Page (Wamego, Kansas), freshman guard Mercedes Brooks (Wichita Falls, Texas), freshman forward Peyton Williams (Topeka, Kansas) and freshman forward Eternati Willock (Scarborough, Ontario, Canada).

The game times, promotional and television schedules for the 2016-17 K-State women’s basketball season will be released at a later date.