Kober Earns Program's First Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Junior Kersten Kober of K-State volleyball was named the program’s first Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year as the conference announced its 2015 fall sport award winners.

Kober has maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average during her time at K-State while also playing in 85 of a possible 89 Wildcat matches in her career. The Southlake, Texas native has served as K-State’s libero for the last two seasons, and she had a career-year in 2015 after posting a personal-best in digs (500) while playing in all 29 contests. Kober, who also finished fourth in the Big 12 in digs per set, became just the fourth different Wildcat to notch 500 digs in a season while the total was seventh-best in school history. 

A two-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team honoree, Kober currently sits eighth in K-State’s record book for career digs with 1,126.

The accounting major has also garnered CoSIDA Academic All-District 7 honors this year while back in 2013-14, she was K-State volleyball’s first student-athlete to be named to the Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team.

Kober is the eighth different K-State student-athlete from all 16 sports to garner the conference’s scholar-athlete honor. Last year, Megan Murray (rowing) and Tyler Lockett (football) earned the award in the spring and fall, respectively.

The Big 12 Conference established its Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award in 2012-13. A recipient is named in each of the Conference’s sponsored sports. Each Big 12 institution nominates one individual per sport with the winners selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches for that sport, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes. 

Scholar-Athlete of the Year nomination criteria include 1) must be a junior or senior (athletic and academic standing); 2) cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or higher; 3) participation in at least 60 percent of the team’s scheduled contests; and 4) minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

2015 Big 12 Fall Scholar-Athlete Award Winners
Cross Country (Men’s): Craig Nowak, Oklahoma State
Cross Country (Women’s): Ingeborg Loevnes, Oklahoma State
Football: Ty Darlington, Oklahoma
Soccer: Koree Willer, Iowa State
Volleyball: Kersten Kober, K-State

All-Time Big 12 Scholar-Athlete Honorees from K-State
Kersten Kober (Volleyball)

Tyler Lockett (Football)
Megan Murray (Rowing)

Daniel Wood (Men’s Golf)
Allison Dorau (Rowing)
Petra Niedermayerova (Women’s Tennis)

Jared King (Baseball)
Petra Niedermayerova (Women’s Tennis)
Brittany Chambers (Women’s Basketball)