NCEA Announces Championship Seeding

WACO, Texas. - The National Collegiate Equestrian Association (NCEA) announced the selection and seeding for the 2016 NCEA Championship on Wednesday. Kansas State was picked as the No. 8 seed and will face No. 9 Delaware State in the opening round, with the winner advancing to face No. 1 Auburn.

Beginning with the 2016 championship, the top-12 overall teams (Western and Hunt Seat combined) are invited to compete. The NCEA Selection Committee determines and invites these teams based on a number of factors throughout the season. The top-four seeds will receive opening round byes. The top-four seeds in the 2016 NCEA Championship are: No. 1 Auburn, No. 2 Georgia, No. 3 Baylor and No. 4 Oklahoma State. All four Big 12 teams are making an appearance in the Championships, while TCU is the No. 6 seed after the conclusion of the Big 12 Championships. 

Last season, K-State defeated SMU in a 10-5 decision in the first round of the National Championship, but fell to Georgia in the quarterfinals, 10-5. The Wildcats look to conclude the season on a high note at the NCEA Championship, which takes place April 14-16 in Waco, Texas at the Extraco Events Center.

NCEA Championship Seeding
1. Auburn
2. Georgia
3. Baylor
4. Oklahoma State
5. Texas A&M
6. TCU
7. South Carolina
8. Kansas State
9. Delaware State
10. SMU
11. New Mexico State
12. Fresno State

NCEA Championship Bracket
Thursday, April 14 – Round 1 (8:30 a.m. CT)

(5) Texas A&M vs. (12) Fresno State
(6) TCU vs. (11) New Mexico State
(7) South Carolina vs. (10) SMU
(8) Kansas State vs. (9) Delaware State

Friday, April 15 – Quarterfinals (8:30 a.m. CT)
(1) Auburn vs. 8/9 Winner
(2) Georgia vs. 7/10 Winner
(3) Baylor vs. 6/11 Winner
(4) Oklahoma State vs. 5/12 Winner

Saturday, April 16 – Semifinals (8:30 a.m. CT)

Saturday, April 16 – Championship Final (2 p.m. CT)