Seven Named to Academic All-Big 12 Teams

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Seven K-State baseball student-athletes were named to the 2016 Academic All-Big 12 teams, the conference office announced, including four first team honorees and three second team.

Seniors Corey Fischer (Major: Social Sciences), Levi MaVorhis (Secondary Education-Social Studies) and Tyler Wolfe (Psychology) were named to the first team and joined by redshirt junior Steve Serratore (History). The honor for MaVorhis is the third first-team accolade of his career, making him the first three-time first-team honoree for K-State since Todd Vogel (2007-09). Fischer, Serratore, and Wolfe, meanwhile, all picked up their first career awards.

Second team honorees included Clayton Dalrymple (Management), Colton Kalmus (Management) and @Jake Wodt (Life Sciences). For Dalrymple and Kalmus, it is the third time in their careers they were named Academic All-Big 12. Wodtke was tabbed to the second team for the second year in a row.

This also marks the third straight year that seven or more Wildcats earned Academic All-Big 12 awards.

There were a total of 87 student-athletes named to this year’s Academic All-Big 12 teams, including 57 first team members and 30 second team.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. 

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

K-State returns to action on Friday at 6:30 p.m. when it opens up the Sunflower Showdown series against KU at Tointon Family Stadium.