Wildcats Soar in Winter Pentathlon

Dec. 9, 2011

Final Stats

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State began the 2011 indoor track and field season with strong performances at the Carol Robinson Winter Pentathlon on Friday at Ahearn Field House. Juniors Tomas Kirielius and Devin Dick finished first and second, respectively, in the men’s competition while junior Richelle Farley, who competed unattached, edged out sophomore Erica Twiss for first place in the women’s competition.

Kirielius turned in a solid performance as he recorded personal bests in the long jump, high jump and overall pentathlon score. He won the meet with a total of 3,770 points and edged out Dick by 16 points.

Dominant in the first two events, Dick posted a time of 8.62 in the 60-meter hurdles and leaped 23-03.5 in the long jump. His jump was more than a foot longer than the second place competitor. Kirielius jumped 22-01.5, which was a personal best for the junior. The tide began to turn in the shot put when Kirielius threw an impressive 43-06 to close the gap.

Dick maintained a 2,272-2,231 lead after three events until Kirielius jumped a personal best 6-08.25 in the high jump to take the lead for good. In the fifth and final event, Dick outran Kirielius in the 1,000-meter dash but came up just short in the final tally. Senior Tony Granillo, who was running unattached, finished third with a score of 3,463 points.

The women’s finish was just as close as Farley held on to win with 3,696 points. She beat out Twiss, who finished with 3,664 points. Farley led throughout the entire competition. Her shot put of 33-03 was the best on the day and just over two feet better than Twiss, who recorded of distance of 31-01.75. Twiss came within 12 points of Farley after the high jump but was never able to get over the hump. Sophomore Julia Zeiner (3,364) finished third, while freshman Sarah Kolmer (3,348) finished fourth.

K-State is back in action on Saturday as it hosts the KSU All-Comers event. Field events will start at 11 a.m. with running events starting at 2 p.m.