Kynard Remains on Updated Bowerman Watch List

Erik Kynard

Feb. 27, 2013

MANHATTAN, Kan. - With the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships approaching next week, the USTFCCCA has announced an updated watch list for the prestigious Bowerman Trophy, and K-State senior high jumper Erik Kynard remains on the list of 10 student-athletes up for college track and field's biggest award.

The USTFCCCA released its Bowerman Trophy Watch List for March on Wednesday afternoon with some changes from the last update as four athletes made their debut on the list in Florida's Marquis Dendy, Texas A&M's Deon Lendore, Tulsa's Chris O'Hare and Washington's Jeremy Taiwo.

This updated list includes numerous athletes who are leading the nation in their respective events among other collegiate athletes and even some who hold the top mark in the world this season. All 10 of the student-athletes on the watch list combined to win 11 individual conference championships this weekend, including Kynard's Big 12 record high jump.

Kynard currently holds the No. 1 jump in the NCAA this season at 2.33 meters (7-07.75). That mark was a new KSU Open meet record, tied his own school record and tied the Ahearn Field House facility record. At the Big 12 Championship this weekend, Kynard cleared 2.31 meters (7-07.00) to set a new meet record as well as a new Leid Recreational Center facility record.

The Bowerman honors former University of Oregon head coach Bill Bowerman and has been awarded to the top collegiate track and field student-athlete since 2009 as it is considered the Heisman Trophy of track and field. In addition to his history of success at Oregon, Bowerman was instrumental in helping establish the system of autonomous federations to control individual sports in the United States today and also is credited with helping fuel the jogging craze in America during the 1970's. Bowerman was a cofounder of Nike and is most recognized within the company for his creation of the waffle sole by pouring rubber on a waffle iron.

The USTFCCCA will announce an updated women's watch list later this week.

2012 Bowerman Men's Watch List - Feb. 27
Marcus Dendy, sophomore, Florida, jumps
Derek Drouin, senior, Indiana, high jump
Tim Glover, senior, Illinois State, throws
Kennedy Kithuka, junior, Texas Tech, distance
Erik Kynard, senior, Kansas State, high jump
Lawi Lalang, junior, Arizona, distance
Deon Lendore, sophomore, Texas A&M, sprints
Chris O'Hare, senior, Tulsa, distance
Jeremy Taiwo, senior, Washington, combined events
Alexander Ziegler, senior, Virginia Tech, throws

Also receiving mention:
Harry Adams, senior, Auburn, sprints
Shawn Barber, freshman, Akron, pole vault
Mike Berry, junior, Oregon, sprints
Jordan Clarke, senior, Arizona State, throws