Kynard Added to Bowerman Watch List

Erik Kynard

Feb. 29, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State junior high jumper Erik Kynard has been promoted to the watch list for track and field’s most prestigious collegiate award. The USTFCCCA announced its updated watch list for the Bowerman Award on Wednesday, and Kynard was added to the list after winning his third straight overall conference title at the Big 12 Championship last weekend.

Kynard is currently ranked No.1 in the NCAA high jump with his leap of 7-07.00 (2.31 meters), clearing the height twice this season. He is currently 1.75 inches above the competition with Mississippi State’s James Harris next on the NCAA’s descending order list. His jump is ranked No. 8 in the world this season and is only one centimeter below 2011 outdoor world champion Jesse Williams.

Kynard was promoted to the official watch list after being listed among the others receiving mention since the initial list was announced earlier this season. The USTFCCCA will be updated frequently throughout the year and finalists will be announced this summer. Senior Wildcat Ryann Krais is on the receiving mention list for the women’s award as well.

The Bowerman, the Heisman Trophy of track and field, is awarded to the top male and female athletes in NCAA track and field sponsored by the USTFCCCA and honors former University of Oregon head coach Bill Bowerman. In addition to his history of success at Oregon, he was instrumental in helping establish the system of autonomous federations to control individual sports in the United States today and also is credited with helping fuel the jogging craze in America during the 1970’s. Bowerman was a cofounder of Nike and is most recognized within the company for his creation of the waffle sole by pouring rubber on a waffle iron.

2012 Bowerman Award Watch List – Feb. 29
Robby Andrews, sophomore/junior, Virginia, distance
Miles Batty, senior, BYU, distance
Jeff Demps, junior/senior, Florida, sprints
Jarrett Eaton, senior, Syracuse, hurdles
Marquise Goodwin, junior, Texas, jumps/sprints
Erik Kynard, junior, Kansas State, high jump
Lawi Lalang, sophomore, Arizona, distance
Tony McQuay, junior, Florida, sprints
Maurice Mitchell, senior, Florida State, sprints
Gunnar Nixon, freshman, Arkansas, combined events