Kynard Named Big 12 Co-Performer of the Year

March 1, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State high jumper Erik Kynard added to his recognitions this week being named Big 12 Conference Indoor Track and Field Co-Outstanding Performer of the Year following the Big 12 Championship last weekend. Kynard is joined by Texas A&M’s Ameer Webb as winners of the award nominated and voted on by the conference head coaches.

Kynard won the men’s high jump with his leap of 7-05.25 (2.27 meters) for his second straight indoor title and third straight overall. He dominated the competition with no other jumper clearing seven feet. The victory marked his fourth of the season as he is undefeated headed into next week’s NCAA Championship in Nampa, Idaho. Kynard currently holds the No. 1 jump in the NCAA this year at 7-07.00 (2.31m), which also stands eighth in the world for the year.

Webb finished second in the men’s 60 meter dash with his time of 6.72 seconds and claimed the title in the 200 meters in 20.62 seconds to lead the nation in the event. He defeated teammate Prezel Hardy by nearly half a second to win the 200 and lost to Hardy by only .06 seconds in the 60 to earn 18 points toward the Aggies’ team score and championship performance.

The Big 12 announced its indoor track and field postseason awards on Thursday afternoon with Texas A&M Head Coach Pat Henry sweeping Coach of the Year honors. Betsy Saina claimed women’s performer of the year. Freshman of the year went to Ryan Crouser of Texas and Kamaria Brown of Texas A&M.

The last time the Wildcats had a Big 12 Performer of the Year was 2008 when Scott Sellers won the men’s high jump with his clearance of 7-06.00 (2.29m)

Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Postseason Awards
Outstanding Performer of the Year
Men: Erik Kynard, K-State; Ameer Webb, Texas A&M
Women: Betsy Saina, Iowa State

Outstanding Freshman of the Year
Men: Ryan Crouser, Texas
Women: Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year
Men: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
Women: Pat Henry, Texas A&M