Updated Bowerman Watch List Includes Kynard

Erik Kynard

March 13, 2013

MANHATTAN, Kan. – As indoor track and field season has ended, the USTFCCCA announced its Post-Indoor Bowerman Watch List on Wednesday and the list of 10 student-athletes up for college track and field’s biggest award includes Kansas State high jumper Erik Kynard.

Kynard was on the initial Preseason Watch List and again following conference championship meets. His third-place finish at the NCAA Championship last week and his season-high jump of 2.33 meters (7-07.75) at the KSU Open keep him on the list now.

The Post-Indoor Bowerman Trophy Watch List includes a total of nine NCAA titles won by the honorees. Four athletes also moved onto the list after strong performances at the NCAA Championship in Arkansas.

Arizona’s Lawi Lalang claimed two titles at the NCAA Championship, winning both the mile and 3,000 meters in meet-record times. Arkansas pole vaulter Andrew Irwin makes his first appearance on the list this season and teammate Kevin Lazas is added after winning the heptathlon. Florida’s Eddie Lovett and Texas A&M’s Ameer Webb also make their career debuts on the Bowerman Watch List.

Kynard currently holds the No. 2 jump in the NCAA this season at 2.33 meters (7-07.75). That mark was a new KSU Open meet record, tied his own school record and tied the Ahearn Field House facility record. At the NCAA Championship, Kynard cleared 2.29 meters (7-06.00) to finish third based on misses. It was the deepest field seen in the high jump in some time as seven jumpers cleared 2.26 meters (7-05.00).

The Bowerman honors former University of Oregon head coach Bill Bowerman and has been awarded to the top collegiate track and field student-athlete since 2009 and is considered the Heisman Trophy of track and field. In addition to his history of success at Oregon, Bowerman was instrumental in helping establish the system of autonomous federations to control individual sports in the United States today and also is credited with helping fuel the jogging craze in America during the 1970’s. Bowerman was a cofounder of Nike and is most recognized within the company for his creation of the waffle sole by pouring rubber on a waffle iron.

The USTFCCCA will announce an updated women’s watch list later this week.

2012 Bowerman Men’s Watch List – March 13
Marcus Dendy, sophomore, Florida, jumps
Derek Drouin, senior, Indiana, high jump
Tim Glover, senior, Illinois State, throws
Andrew Irwin, sophomore, Arkansas, pole vault
Kennedy Kithuka, junior, Texas Tech, distance
Erik Kynard, senior, Kansas State, high jump
Lawi Lalang, junior, Arizona, distance
Kevin Lazas, junior, Arkansas, combined events
Eddie Lovett, junior, Florida, hurdles
Ameer Webb, senior, Texas A&M, sprints

Also receiving mention:
Harry Adams, senior, Auburn, sprints
Mike Berry, junior, Oregon, sprints
D’Angelo Cherry, senior, Mississippi State, sprints
Jordan Clarke, senior, Arizona State, throws
Alexander Ziegler, senior, Virginia Tech, throws