11 Wildcats Named Academic All-Big 12

May 14, 2014K-State AthleticsMANHATTAN, Kan. – The Big 12 Conference announced its 2014 Academic All-Big 12 Track and Field team earlier today with a total of 189 student-athletes making the grade, including 11 K-State Wildcats.

The women led K-State with six honorees, all of them first team members. Sarah Kolmer was one of only six athletes to be nominated with a 4.00 grade point average and, along with Dani Winters, earned first team honors for the second-straight season. Erica Twiss, who was named to the second team last year, earned first team honors for the first time in her career, as did Mary Frances Donnelly, Tia' Gamble and Merryl Mbeng.

On the men’s side, five members earned first team honors. Ryan Hershberger received first team honors for a fourth-straight year, while both Kyle Hanson and Kyle Wait earned the accolade for the third time in their careers. Pole vaulters Tommy Brady and Cameron Savage rounded out the group with both athletes earning first team honors for the second-straight season.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher of the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. First team honors are given to athletes that maintained at least a 3.20 GPA. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Wildcats are in Lubbock, Texas, this week for the Big 12 Championships, set to begin Friday, May 16.