K-State Track & Field Honored by USTFCCCA

Nina Kokot

Aug. 12, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. – A week after a group of 10 Wildcats were named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team the coaches organization released its team academic awards and both the Kansas State men’s and women’s track and field teams were named USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams.

The men’s team received the award for its combined GPA of 3.094 while the Wildcat women boast a team GPA of 3.25. The Big 12 Conference had the most individuals named to the All-Academic Team last week and again was the top conference this week with the most teams be recognized as a whole. The conference had 11 women’s programs recognized and eight men’s teams. The total of 19 tied the Big East as that conference had seven men’s programs and 12 women’s make the grade.

The Big 12 women also swept the Scholar Team of the Year awards with Texas being recognized as the highest finishing team at the NCAA Indoor Championship with a GPA of 3.00 or higher. The Longhorns finished second at the meet and held a 3.28 GPA. Oklahoma’s women received the outdoor honor for their fourth-place finish and 3.03 GPA.

K-State’s track and field programs and cross country program received a number of academic honors this academic year with the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team honors closing the book. Alyssa Bellinder was recognized this fall at the NCAA Championship as the women’s cross country winner of the Elite 88 Award. The award honors the student-athlete with the highest GPA to compete at their respective sport’s championship event. Sydney Messick earned All-Academic Team standing in cross country for her 3.67 GPA and 15th-place finish at the NCAA Midwest Regional. Nina Kokot also earned Capital One Academic All-District Second Team for the Wildcats. As a whole, K-State student-athletes have held the highest all-sport graduation rate in the Big 12 Conference each of the past four years.

The USTFCCCA recognizes teams with a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher as an All-Academic Team. This year the organization recognized 90 men’s programs and 164 women’s teams with the distinction.