Mendez Captures K-State Invitational Title

MANHATTAN, Kan.-  Sophomore Liliani Mendez took home the women’s title at the Kansas State Invitational cross country meet Friday evening at Warner Park in Manhattan. With a 5K time of 17:58.80, this marks the first cross country win for Mendez as a Wildcat.


“Liliani Mendez ran really well,” said head coach Michael Smith. “I thought she was outstanding. She continues to be consistent, and that will help us.”


Following Mendez, freshman Lindsay Pierson once again turned in an impressive finish in only her second collegiate race. Pierson crossed the line second, with a time of 18:33.10, while junior Morgan Bonds clocked a 19:23.60 time and a fifth-place finish. This was Pierson and Bonds’ second consecutive week finishing in the top 10.


On the men’s side, Colin Swaney led the way for the Wildcats with a fourth-place finish and a 5K time of 15:48.40. The men’s team ran as a pack the entire race, finishing as the fourth through eighth runners in the meet. Sophomore Kory Cool grabbed back-to-back fifth-place finishes, turning in a time of 16:04.70 on Friday. Cool placed fifth last weekend at the Bob Timmons Invitational in Lawrence, Kan.


The University of Kansas won both the men’s and women’s team standings in the dual between the two schools. The Kansas women edged the Wildcats 28-29, while the Jayhawk men defeated K-State 25-30.


“We trained hard and didn’t back off,” said Smith. “We just came up a little short, and that happens. I’m proud of the way we competed.”


The Wildcats will enjoy a week off before heading north to the Roy Griak Invitational in Minneapolis, Minn., on Sept. 23.


Final Results


4. Colin Swaney                        15:48.40                       

5. Kory Cool                             16:04.70                       

6. Danny Schneider                   16:09.10                       

7. Alex Umberger                      16:11.40                       

8. Tyler Fennama                      16:12.50                       

15. Travis Whitham                    16:45.50

17. Curtiss Feltner                     16:49.30



1. Liliani Mendez                        17:58.80

2. Lindsay Pierson                     18:33.10

5. Morgan Bonds                       19:23.60

12. Megan-Anne Perrin               20:24.80

16. Kody Martin                         22:26.90