Mendez, Umberger Pace Wildcats at Griak

St. Paul, Minn. The Kansas State cross country teams headed to Minnesota to compete in the 22nd Annual Roy Griak Invitational on Saturday to mark the beginning of their competitive season. Alex Umberger led the men’s team to a 20th place finish while junior Liliani Mendez paced the women’s team to a 12th place finish.

Mendez, a native of Florda, Puerto Rico, placed 25th overall with a 6K time of 22:04. Sophomore Beverly Mendez finished 36th with a time of 22:21 in her first race since being honored as the Big 12 Runner of the Week on Sept. 18.

Umberger paced K-State for the fourth time this season by finishing 71st with a 8K time of 25:57, three seconds off of his personal-record time of 25:54 set during his freshman year at the Big 12 Championships. Danny Schneider came in 100th place with a time of 26:33.

There were six schools from the Big 12 represented in this year’s Roy Griak Invitational (Kansas State, Iowa State, Kansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Nebraska). The top finishers among those schools were the Iowa State men’s team earning third place, and the Nebraska women’s team finishing in fifth place.

The Wildcats continue their competitive stretch of the season by traveling to Terre Haute, Ind., for the Pre-NCAA Championships on Oct. 13. The competition will be hosted by Indiana State University and is the same location of the NCAA Championships on Nov. 19 later this season.

K-State Women’s Individual Results
25. Liliani Mendez 22:04
36. Beverly Ramos 22:21
104. Emily Dittemore 23:48
106. Liz Rea 23:50
109. Morgan Bonds 23:57
114. Megan-Anne Perrin 24:03
135. Sydney Messick 24:29

Women’s Team Results
1. Minnesota 97
2. Arizona State 100
3. Michigan State 109
4. UC Santa Barbara 156
5. Nebraska 163
12. Kansas State 380

K-State Men’s Individual Results
71. Alex Umberger 25:57
100. Danny Schneider 26:33
119. Mike Sickafoose 26:59
133. Tyler Fennema 27:27
149. Clinton MacDonald 27:38
152. Taylor Coate 28:48

Men’s Team Results
1. Northern Arizona 84
2. Arizona State 88
3. Iowa State 99
4. Minnesota 107
5. Virginia 126
20. Kansas State 572