Scott Named Candidate for Senior Class Award

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State senior second baseman Brett Scott is one of 30 candidates nationally in the running for the 2008 Lowe’s Senior Class Award for baseball, it was announced on Tuesday. Scott is one of just four Big 12 players up for the award.


A great example of a student-athlete, Scott became just the ninth player in school history to earn academic all-America honors as he was selected to the 2007 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Third Team last year. He also earned First Team Academic All-Big 12 honors as a junior and was honored by the Big 12 Conference in 2007 with his community work as he was one of 12 Big 12 student-athletes named to the Spring Good Works Team. A redshirt senior from Manhattan, Scott received a degree in Finance with a minor in Economics last spring and graduated with a 3.97 GPA. He is currently working on a master’s degree in business administration.


Scott, who is in the midst of his last season of eligibility, is hitting .286 with four RBI, and has been perfect on all four stolen base attempts.


The Lowe’s Senior Class award is presented annually to NCAA Division I student-athletes in eight sports. The award focuses on classroom, character, community and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched in 2001 to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who fulfill their entire athletic eligibility and pursue their degree. Since then, the award has expanded to include men’s hockey, men’s lacrosse, baseball, softball and men’s and women’s soccer.


“With the landscape of baseball over the years, these collegiate seniors deserve to be honored for staying in school, being a leader on their team, working towards their degree and making an impact in their local community,” said Bob Gfeller, Lowe’s Senior vice president of marketing and advertising. “These 30 baseball candidates are tremendous collegiate student-athletes in every sense of the word.”


For more information on the award, please visit