Pair of Wildcats Named Semifinalists

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State’s A.J. Morris and Drew Biery have been named semifinalists for their respective player of the year awards, the College Baseball Foundation announced on Thursday.


Morris, a redshirt junior from Humble, Texas, is one of 15 pitchers named a semifinalist for the organization’s Pitcher of the Year Award. Morris, who broke the single-season school record for wins in a complete-game at No. 2 Texas, was joined on the list by three other pitchers from the Big 12 Conference, the most of any conference in the nation.


Morris has been one of the best pitchers in the nation in 2009, holding an 11-1 record and a 1.67 ERA, which is tops in the Big 12 in both categories. The right-hander ranks second nationally in victories, while his ERA is third in the country.


Biery, a product of Arlington, Texas, is one of 15 players named a semifinalist for the Brooks Wallace Award, which is in its first year of honoring the nation’s most outstanding shortstop. Previously, the Wallace Award was given to the national player of the year.


Biery, one of two Big 12 players on the list, has had an outstanding senior campaign as he is hitting .343 with 16 doubles, one triple, eight home runs and 43 RBI. Biery’s .343 average is 16th in the Big 12, while he is tied for fourth in doubles and tied for 10th in runs scored (49).


Both awards will be presented on July 2 at The College Baseball Awards Show in Lubbock, Texas. The awards show recognizes the top players in college baseball as part of the CBF’s annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.





Player                                      School                                                   Conference

Mike Leake                               Arizona State                                          Pac-10

Deck McGuire                           Georgia Tech                                           ACC

Eric Arnett                                 Indiana                                                    Big 10

A.J. Morris                            Kansas State                                     Big 12

Louis Coleman                           LSU                                                        SEC

Kyle Bellamy                             Miami                                                     ACC

Buddy Baumann                        Missouri State                                         MVC

Daniel Calhoun                          Murray State                                           OVC

Alex Wimmers                           Ohio State                                               Big 10

Mark Serrano                             Oral Roberts                                            Summit League

Addison Reed                            San Diego State                                      Mountain West

Stephen Strasburg                     San Diego State                                      Mountain West

Austin Wood                             Texas                                                     Big 12

Brooks Raley                             Texas A&M                                             Big 12

Daniel Bibona                            UC Irvine                                                 Big West





Player                                      School                                                   Conference

Ben Orloff                                  UC Irvine                                                 Big West

Bryan Marquez                          New Mexico State                                    WAC

Bryant Hernandez                      Oklahoma                                               Big 12

Christian Colon                          Cal State Fullerton                                   Big West

Clint Moore                                Army                                                      Patriot

Derek Dietrich                            Georgia Tech                                           ACC

DJ LeMahieu                             LSU                                                        SEC

DREW BIERY                           KANSAS STATE                                     BIG 12

Drew Lee                                   Morehead State                                       OVC

Gary Helmick                            Towson                                                   Colonial

Jedd Gyorko                              West Virginia                                           Big East

Jordan Kreke                             Eastern Illinois                                         OVC

Kyle Bellows                             San Jose State                                        WAC
Ryan Goins                               Dallas Baptist                                          Independent
Stephen Cardullo                       Florida State                                            ACC