Seven Named 2015 Academic All-Big 12

MANHATTAN, Kan. -- The K-State baseball team had seven student-athletes named to the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 Team, the conference office announced. Four Wildcats -- Clayton Dalrymple, Colton Kalmus, Levi MaVorhis and Carter Yagi -- were named to the first team while three others -- Taylor Anderson, Nate Griep and Jake Wodtke -- were selected to the second team.

For Dalrymple, Griep, Kalmus and MaVorhis, it is each their second career Academic All-Big 12 honor, with all four earning first or second team accolades in 2014. Yagi, a senior, picked up his first career Academic All-Big 12 selection in addition to Anderson and Wodtke.

Under head coach Brad Hill, K-State has collected 71 Academic All-Big 12 honors, including 18 over the last two years.

This year's entire first team includes 51 members with 29 honorees on the second team.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

K-State will wrap up its regular season with the Sunflower Showdown series this weekend in Lawrence. The Wildcats will take on KU in the series opener at Hoglund Ballpark on Friday, with first pitch set for 6 p.m.

2015 Academic All-Big 12
First Team

Clayton Dalrymple, Jr. (Major: Management)
Colton Kalmus, RS So. (Management)
Levi MaVorhis, Jr. (Secondary Education)
Carter Yagi, Sr. (Social Sciences)

Second Team
Taylor Anderson, RS Jr. (Social Sciences)
Nate Griep, RS So. (Management)
Jake Wodtke, RS So. (Life Sciences)