Record 11 Student-Athletes Named Academic All-Big 12

May 15, 2014

K-State Athletics

MANHATTAN, Kan. – A program-record 11 K-State Baseball student-athletes were named to the 2014 Academic All-Big 12 Team, the conference announced. Seven Wildcats were named to the First Team.

All four seniors, Blair DeBord (Major: Marketing), Ross Kivett (Communications), Jared Moore (Marketing), and RJ Santigate (Secondary Education), led the group of 11, with Kivett and Santigate earning First Team distinctions. Also among the group was sophomore Landon Busch (Open Option), sophomore Clayton Dalrymple (Business Administration), redshirt freshman Nate Griep (Open Option), redshirt freshman Colton Kalmus (Open Option), sophomore Levi MaVorhis (Secondary Education), redshirt junior Mitch Meyer (Wildlife & Outdoor Enterprise Management), and sophomore Jordan Witcig (Open Option).

Joining Kivett and Santigate on the First Team were Dalrymple, Griep, Kalmus, MaVorhis, and Witcig. Earning Second Team honors were Busch, DeBord, Meyer, and Moore.

The previous record for most Academic All-Big 12 selections in a single season for K-State was seven, set three different times (Last: 2012).

In total, 65 student-athletes were named to the 2014 Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team. Baylor led all schools with 12 honorees, all of which were First Team selections, while Texas joined K-State with 11.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

K-State will wrap up its 2014 season this weekend with a three-game series against No. 19 Texas at Tointon Family Stadium. The series opener is on Friday, May 16 at 6:30 pm, which will feature a postgame fireworks show presented by the K-State Student Union Program Council. Saturday, May 17 will be Senior Night as the Wildcats honor their class of four seniors prior to the 6:30 pm first pitch.