K-State No. 6 Seed in Big 12 Tournament, Opens vs. OU

2015 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship Central

-- After securing its seventh trip to the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship in the last eight years on Saturday, the K-State baseball team learned Sunday evening that it will open the 2015 edition of the postseason tournament in a matchup against Oklahoma at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, May 20 at ONEOK Field in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

The Wildcats (26-28, 10-14 Big 12) will arrive in Tulsa as the No. 6 seed in the double-elimination tournament while the Sooners (32-25, 13-11 Big 12) are the No. 3 seed. Seeds are determined by finish in the Big 12 regular season standings.

K-State and Oklahoma are joined in division two of the eight-team bracket by second-seeded Oklahoma State and seventh-seeded West Virginia. The Cowboys and Mountaineers will face off at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, with the winner taking on the winner of the K-State-OU contest on Thursday at 7:30 p.m. The losers will face off on Thursday as well, with first pitch set for 12:30 p.m.

The Wildcats and Sooners have met six times in Big 12/Big Eight postseason tournament history, with the Sooners holding a 4-2 advantage. The last time the two schools met was in 2013 when K-State scored four runs in the ninth to force extra-innings and then tallied another run in the 10th to tie the game once again before falling, 7-6, in 11 innings.

The two sides just met seven days ago for their three-game set in Manhattan. The Wildcats took the opener, 5-0, before dropping the next two games by a combined three runs to lose the series.

Other seeds in this year's tournament are slated as No. 1 TCU, the Big 12 regular season champion, No. 4 Texas Tech, No. 5 Texas and No. 8 Baylor. The first game on Wednesday, between Texas Tech and Texas, will be at 9 a.m. while TCU and Baylor play at 12:30 p.m.

Prices for single-session tickets range from $10 for lawn seating to $25 for premium seats. The championship will feature a total of nine sessions, all of which include two games except for Sunday's championship finale at noon. Fans can purchase tickets by visiting Big12Sports.com or Big12InTulsa.com or by calling or visiting the Tulsa Drillers box office (918-744-5901). All-session tickets are also available and include all contests, including the "if necessary" games, totaling 15. Fans interested in purchasing all-session tickets can visit or call the Tulsa Drillers box office during regular business hours.

The Championship will make its ONEOK Field debut this year, marking just the third time the event has not been hosted in Oklahoma City. Wednesday through Saturday's contests will be telecast on FOX College Sports, FOX Sports Southwest Plus and FOX Sports Midwest Plus with Sunday's noon championship game on FOX Sports 1. All games will also be available on FOX Sports GO to authenticated subscribers.

ONEOK Field is located in the historic Greenwood District of downtown Tulsa. The ballpark opened in 2010 and is home to the Tulsa Drillers, Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

For more about the bracket, click here

Wednesday, May 20
Game 1: No. 5 Texas vs. No. 4 Texas Tech (FCS) - 9:00 a.m.
Game 2: No. 8 Baylor vs. No. 1 TCU (FCS) - 12:30 p.m.
Game 3: No. 6 K-State vs. No. 3 Oklahoma (FCS) - 4:00 p.m.
Game 4: No. 7 West Virginia vs. No. 2 Oklahoma State (FCS) - 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 21
Game 5: Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser (FCS) - 9:00 a.m.
Game 6: Game 3 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser (FCS) - 12:30 p.m.
Game 7: Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner (FCS) - 4:00 p.m.
Game 8: Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner (FCS) - 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 22
Game 9: Game 7 Loser vs. Game 5 Winner (FCS) - 3:15 p.m.
Game 10: Game 8 Loser vs. Game 6 Winner (FCS) - 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 23
Game 11: Game 7 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner (FCS) - 9:00 a.m.
Game 12: Game 8 Winner vs. Game 10 Winner (FCS) - 12:30 p.m.
*Game 13: If Necessary (FCS) - 4:00 p.m.
**Game 14: If Necessary*** (FCS) - 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, May 24
Game 15: Championship Game (FOX Sports 1) - Noon

Times listed in Central. Division One: Seeds 4 vs. 5, 1 vs. 8 Division Two: Seeds3 vs. 6, 2 vs. 7
*Game 13 will be necessary if the winner of Game 9 also wins Game 11.
**Game 14 will be necessary if the winner of Game 10 also wins Game 12.
***If Game 13 is unnecessary, Game 14 will be played at 4:30 p.m. rather than 7:30 p.m.