Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship Field Set

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. The field for the 2007 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship has been set as Kansas State will make just its second-ever appearance in the tournament, this season as the No. 8 seed.


The Wildcats will open the 2007 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship on Wednesday afternoon against top-seeded and regular season champion Texas at 1 p.m. inside Bricktown Ballpark.


After Wednesday’s opener against Texas, Kansas State will face fourth-seeded Nebraska Thursday at 7:30 p.m. and then will square off against fifth-seeded Texas A&M Saturday at 10 a.m.


The seeds for the tournament are as follows: No. 1 Texas, No. 2 Missouri, No. 3 Oklahoma State, No. 4 Nebraska, No. 5 Texas A&M, No. 6 Baylor, No. 7 Oklahoma and No. 8 Kansas State.


K-State is in Pool 1 in the two-pool, round-robin format. Each of the eight teams competing is guaranteed a minimum of three games. Seeds 2, 3, 6 and 7 will compete in pool play on one side of the bracket, while seeds 1, 4, 5 and 8 will play in the other. The two teams with the best record within their bracket will advance to the Championship game, with the winner earning the Big 12’s automatic berth into the NCAA Championship.