Big 12 Baseball Championship Schedule Adjusted

Head Coach Brad Hill

May 21, 2013

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - In the wake of this week's devastating storm in the Oklahoma City suburb of Moore, the Big 12 Conference is postponing the start of the 2013 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship.

The championship, originally set to begin on Wednesday at the Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in double-elimination format will now begin on Thursday and will utilize a pool play format.

"We debated canceling the tournament in deference to the devastating tragedy in Moore, but were encouraged by Oklahoma City leaders and the Oklahoma City All-Sports Association to go forward," said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. "We believe the tournament can serve as a testament to the strong Oklahoma spirit and to the resiliency of the Oklahoma people."

No. 1-seed Kansas State will face eighth-seeded Texas Tech at 12:30 p.m., on Thursday. The Wildcats will then take on No. 5-seed Baylor Friday and No. 4-seed Oklahoma Saturday with those of those contests also beginning at 12:30 p.m. The winner of each poll will be in the championship at 1 p.m., Sunday afternoon.

"We are very appreciative of the consideration by the participating teams and the Big 12 Conference," Oklahoma City Mayor Mick Cornett said. "We encouraged and supported the decision to play the championship in a format comfortable to the Big 12."

Every game from the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship will be televised to a national audience on Fox College Sports, except for Sunday's title game that will be shown on FSN. Every Kansas State postseason game will be aired on the K-State Sports Network and can be heard online for free at

Tickets for the Big 12 Championship are available by calling the Oklahoma City RedHawks Box Office at (405) 218-1000 or by visiting

K-State's Revised Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship Schedule (Pool Play)
Thursday, May 23: No. 1 Kansas State vs. No. 8 Texas Tech, 12:30 p.m.
Friday, May 24: No. 1 Kansas State vs. No. 5 Baylor, 12:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 25: No. Kansas State vs. No. 4 Oklahoma, 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, May 26: Championship Game (Pool 1 vs. Pool 2 Winners), 1 p.m.