Morris Named Semifinalist for Golden Spikes

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State’s A.J. Morris was one of 30 semifinalists for the 2009 Golden Spikes Award, USA Baseball announced on Tuesday.


The award, which is in its 32nd year of existence, is presented to the nation’s most premier amateur baseball player. Morris becomes the first Kansas State player to be named a semifinalist for the award.


Morris, the 2009 Big 12 Pitcher of the Year, holds a 13-1 record and a 1.84 ERA this season, leading K-State to its first regional appearance in school history. The Humble, Texas, native, who holds the school record for single-season wins, is tied for fifth in the history of the Big 12 Conference for single-season wins. The junior, who has 98 strikeouts this season, is one shy from tying the school record held by former major leaguer Ted Power (1976).


Morris was one of four Big 12 players named a semifinalist for the award as the right-hander joined Missouri’s Kyle Gibson, Texas A&M’s Brooks Raley, and Oklahoma’s J.T. Wise on the list.


“USA Baseball is proud to recognize the 30 semifinalists and their respective baseball programs for the 2009 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO. “With 25 schools and 14 conferences represented, it is clear that the level of competition within college baseball and for the Golden Spikes Award is as high as ever.”


In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the award, and it will follow the same model against in 2009. After accepting nominations from sports information directors across the country, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. The names of the 30 semifinalists will now be forwarded to a voting body of 125 who will select the five finalists and the eventual 2009 USA Baseball golden Spikes Award winner.


The 2009 Golden Spikes Award will be awarded live at MLB’s All-Star FanFest in St. Louis as part of a production by Major League Baseball and the MLBAM.


For more information on the Golden Spikes Award, please visit




Player                                      School                                                   Conference

Dustin Ackley (1B)                     North Carolina                                          ACC

Eric Arnett (RHP)                       Indiana                                                    Big Ten

Buddy Bumann (LHP)                 Missouri State                                         Missouri Valley

Kyle Bellamy (RHP)                   Miami                                                     ACC

Daniel Bibona (LHP)                   UC Irvine                                                 Big West

Bryce Brentz (OF/RHP)              Middle Tennessee State                           Sun Belt

Louis Coleman (RHP)                 LSU                                                        SEC

Chris Dominguez (3B)                Louisville                                                 Big East

Josh Fellhauer (OF)                    Cal State Fullerton                                   Big West

Kyle Gibson (RHP)                     Missouri                                                  Big 12

Jason Kipnis (OF)                      Arizona State                                          Pac-10

Marc Krauss (IF/OF)                  Ohio                                                       Mid-American

Mike Leake (RHP)                      Arizona State                                          Pac-10

Justin Marks (LHP)                    Louisville                                                 Big East

Bryan Marquez (2B)                   New Mexico State                                    WAC

Kent Matthes (OF)                     Alabama                                                 SEC

Deck McGuire (RHP)                  Georgia Tech                                           ACC

Tommy Mendonca (3B)              Fresno State                                           WAC

A.J. Morris (RHP)                  Kansas State                                     Big 12

Josh Phegley (C)                       Indiana                                                    Big Ten

Rich Poythress (1B)                   Georgia                                                   SEC

Brooks Raley (LHP/OF)              Texas A&M                                             Big 12

Addison Reed (RHP)                  San Diego State                                      Mountain West

Anthony Rendon                        Rice                                                        Conference USA

Tony Sanchez (C)                      Boston College                                        ACC

Angelo Songco (OF)                   Loyola Marymount                                   West Coast

Stephen Strasburg (RHP)           San Diego State                                      Mountain West

Alex White (RHP)                      North Carolina                                          ACC

Alex Wimmers (RHP)                 Ohio State                                               Big Ten

J.T. Wise (C/IF)                         Oklahoma                                               Big 12