Two Wildcats Earn Postgraduate Scholarships

Matt Giller

June 8, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State student-athletes Matt Giller and Ryann Krais have been named recipients of the 2011-12 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships in an announcement by the Big 12 Conference Friday.

Giller, a four-year letterwinner for the K-State baseball team, is a two-time First Team Academic All-Big 12 selection and was named to the Big 12 Spring Commissioner’s Honor Roll five times, while he was awarded with the Big 12’s Spring Chick-fil-A Community of Champions award. A product of Manhattan, Kan., Giller played in 148 career games with 103 starts and held a career batting average of .294. An active member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Giller graduated as a double-major in management and marketing.

Krais, who was the 2012 Big 12 Outdoor Champion in the heptathlon, graduated last semester with a degree in psychology and a 3.95 GPA. The Eagleville, Pa., product is a two-time academic all-district selection and was also named a First Team Academic All-Big 12 recipient last season. Krais was ranked No. 8 nationally in the heptathlon heading into this week’s NCAA Championship.

The postgraduate scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services’ pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 293 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

To date the Big 12 has provided over $2 million for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999, increased to $6,900 for 2004-05, climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07 and moved to $9,000 in 2011-12.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee’s respective institution and completion of athletics’ eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.