Tointon Family Stadium
Tointon Family Stadium
Dedicated on April 20, 2002, the longtime home of the Wildcat baseball team received a complete makeover transforming it from Frank Myers Field to the beautiful Tointon Family Stadium. Named in honor of Bob and Betty Tointon, the principle benefactors of the stadium improvements, the $3.1 million project turned the 45-year-old stadium into not only one of the finest in the Midwest but also in the fiercely competitive Big 12 Conference.
Every facet of the stadium has been improved: from a new playing surface with state-of-the-art drainage and irrigation systems, to new home and visiting dugouts, to a new seating bowl with capacity for more than 2,000 fans. The bowl itself provides about 1,731 chairback and bench seats (1,631 in the actual bowl and 118 in the suites). Most recently, FieldTurf was installed on the entire infield and warning track areas. Only the pitcher's mound and home plate are clay, while the outfield remains natural grass.
The players' area of the facility includes a 3,150-square-foot locker room off the third-base dugout complete with 35 custom-built wood lockers, bathrooms, shower facilities and a team lounge. There is also a sports medicine training room and equipment room complete with laundry facilities. Inside the main entrance lobby are spacious offices for the coaches, a conference room and a coaches’ locker room. One of the great features of the stadium is the John Allen Strength Center. Located under the first-base grandstand, the strength center provides the Wildcat program one of the top on-site baseball weight-training facilities in the nation. The center was named for alumnus John Allen, the former chief operating officer for the Cincinnati Reds who provided the gift to equip and furnish the area.
Tointon Stadium has plenty of amenities for Wildcat fans with the addition of permanent restroom and concession areas. Fans can also watch the action from one of five private suites and a club suite that provide not only the usual comforts of indoor seating, but outdoor chairback seating, as well. The 1,380-square-feet press facility includes a main working area, booths for home and visiting radio and a television broadcast booth.
The total square footage of the stadium project was approximately 13,876 square feet. The exterior of the stadium is fashioned of limestone, matching the look of many buildings on the K-State campus, including the university’s most prominent building Anderson Hall. The limestone was donated to the project by the Bayer Stone Company of St. Mary’s, Kan.
Improvements to the stadium continued in the fall of 2003 with the addition of a new stadium lighting system, an electronic scoreboard and a permanent ticket booth. New outdoor batting cages were constructed at the stadium in 2005. The Brandeberry Indoor Complex was also completely renovated with the installation of a new lighting system, FieldTurf and netting to allow live hitting and infield practice situations.
The stadium was originally dedicated on April 7, 1961, in honor of baseball coach Frank Myers. A student and/or faculty member for over 50 years at Kansas State, Myers was known more for his work as the director of intramurals from 1948 to 1962. He also served as assistant to three Kansas State athletic directors, including a 20-year stint as the assistant to the legendary Mike Ahearn. In addition to serving as head basketball coach in 1921 and 1922, Myers worked with the Wildcat baseball team for four years one year as co-head coach with Dougal Russell in 1940 and three years as an assistant. He retired from the university in 1962 before dying at the age of 81 in 1973.
The picturesque facility is nestled southwest of Bramlage Coliseum and sits comfortably among stately pine trees that line the outfield wall.