Weber, McGruder Earn District Honors From USBWA

Senior Rodney McGruder added to his All-Big 12 honors on Thursday by being named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District VI team.

March 14, 2013

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Head coach Bruce Weber was named the District VI Coach of the Year, while senior Rodney McGruder earned earn recognition to the All-District team, as the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced their regional honors on Thursday.

McGruder was joined on the organization's All-District team by Creighton's Doug McDermott, Iowa State's Will Clyburn, Kansas' Ben McLemore and Jeff Withey, Missouri's Phil Pressey, Oklahoma's Romero Osby, Oklahoma State's Markel Brown and Marcus Smart and South Dakota State's Nate Wolters.  The district covers the states of Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North and South Dakota.  McGruder earned All-District honors for the second straight season. 

Weber, who was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year by both the league coaches and The Associated Press on Sunday, is now one of nine candidates for the USBWA's National Coach of the Year.  He is also one of 20 finalists for the Skip Prosser Award from 

A native of Washington, D.C., McGruder became just the third men's basketball player to earn All-Big 12 First Team honors since the inception of the league on Sunday, joining Michael Beasley (2008) and Jacob Pullen (2010, 2011).  He leads the team in six categories, including scoring (15.1 ppg.), double-digit scoring games (25), 20-point games (nine), field goals (174) and minutes (32.9.  He is averaging 15.1 points on 43.9 percent shooting, including 32.3 percent from 3-point range, to go with 5.2 rebounds, 2.1 assists, 1.3 steals in 32.9 minutes per game.  He ranks among the Big 12's Top 20 in scoring, field goal percentage, steals and minutes played.  

Seeded No. 2 at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship, No. 11/12 K-State (25-6) opens the tournament on Thursday when the Wildcats play No. 7 seed Texas (16-16, 7-11 Big 12) at 6 p.m. at the Sprint Center.