K-State announces year-end team awards

MANHATTAN, Kan. Senior forward Cartier Martin was named the inaugural winner of the Rolando Blackman Team Most Valuable Player Award to highlight festivities at the annual Kansas State men’s basketball banquet held Wednesday night in the ballroom of the Clarion Hotel.          


A native of Houston, Texas, Martin left Kansas State as one of the top players in school history.  He is one of just six players in school history to record 1,500 points and one of just three to top 1,500 points and 500 rebounds in a career.  Martin ranks among the top-10 in 11 career statistics, including sixth in scoring with 1,546 points.  This past season, he captured the Big 12’s inaugural Sixth Man Award and was selected to the coaches’ all-conference second team for the second consecutive season.  Martin paced the Wildcats in nine categories, including scoring (17.1 ppg.), 20-point games (13), double-figure scoring (29), field goals (197), 3-point field goals (78) and free throw percentage (79.9).

Junior forward David Hoskins was named the winner of the Tex Winter Outstanding Offensive Player Award.  The only player in school history to start in 35 games in a season, he ranked second on the team in numerous categories, including scoring (14.5 ppg.), rebounding (5.9 rpg.), assists (2.5 apg.), steals (1.0 spg.) and minutes (27.6 mpg.).  Hoskins’ 28 double-digit scoring games this season tie four other players for the eighth-most in school history in a single-season.  He was named a second team All-Big 12 selection by the league coaches and to the third team by The Associated Press.     

For the second consecutive season, senior guard Akeem Wright was selected with the Jack Hartman Defensive Player Award, which is given to commemorate the accomplishments of the winningest coach in K-State history.  Regularly assigned to the opponent’s top offensive threat, he helped the Wildcats hold their opponents to just 65.1 points per game on just 42.1 percent shooting.  Wright ranked among the top-5 in several categories, including first in minutes (27.7 mpg.) and rebounding (6.3 rpg.).

Junior guard Clent Stewart and freshman forward Bill Walker were named the winners of the Porky Morgan Most Inspirational Player Award, which is given in honor of K-State’s head athletic trainer for nearly 30 years.  Stewart battled through numerous injuries plus his mother’s illness to average 6.5 points and a team-best 2.9 assists this past season.  After becoming eligible on Dec. 17, Walker played just six games for the Wildcats before going down with season-ending knee injury against Texas A&M on Jan. 6.  He averaged 11.3 points per game on 40 percent shooting with 4.5 rebounds.

Junior guard Blake Young was named the winner of the Dean Harris Newcomer of the Year Award, which was established in 1974 following the tragic death of Harris.  In his first season, Young saw action in all 35 games with 11 starts and averaged 5.3 points and a team-high 1.2 steals.  He scored in double figures in seven games, including a career-high 24 points against Tennessee Tech on Nov. 18. 

Other award winners included Clent Stewart with the Keith Amerson Academic Award for the third consecutive year and freshman forward Luis Colon with the Ernie Barrett Hustle Award.


Kansas State completed the 2006-07 season with a 23-12 overall record and a 10-6 mark in Big 12 Conference play.  The 23 wins were the most by a Wildcat squad in nearly 20 seasons, while the 10 league victories were the most in the Big 12 era.  The squad was invited to the postseason for the first time since 1999, where they advanced to the second round of the MasterCard NIT.   


2006-07 Kansas State Basketball Team Awards:

Rolando Blackman Team Most Valuable Player: Cartier Martin

Porky Morgan Most Inspirational Player Award: Clent Stewart/Bill Walker

Tex Winter Outstanding Offensive Player Award: David Hoskins

Jack Hartman Defensive Player Award: Akeem Wright

Keith Amerson Academic Award: Clent Stewart

Ernie Barrett Hustle Award: Luis Colon

Dean Harris Newcomer of the Year: Blake Young