K-State To Open Diamond Head Classic vs. SIU

Head coach Frank Martin will lead his Wildcats into action at the Diamond Head Classic on Dec. 22-25.

Aug. 3, 2011

Complete Bracket w-EST Times Get Acrobat Reader

Complete Bracket w-HST Times Get Acrobat Reader

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State will take on Southern Illinois in the first round of the third annual Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic on Thursday, December 22, as ESPN Regional Television, Inc., (ERT) officials announced the complete bracket for the tournament on Thursday afternoon.  

The Wildcats will take on the Salukis for the seventh time in school history at 4:30 p.m. CST (12:30 p.m. HST) on ESPNU at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu.  The winner would advance to face either Clemson or Texas-El Paso (UTEP) on Friday, Dec. 23 at 4:30 p.m. CST (12:30 p.m. HST) on ESPNU, while the two remaining teams will play at 2 p.m. CST (10 a.m. HST), also on ESPNU.  

In the opposite bracket, reigning Big West champion Long Beach State will play Atlantic 10 champion Xavier in the third game before the final first-round match-up on Thursday between SEC foe Auburn and host Hawaii.  

The winner of each bracket will face off in the championship game on Sunday, Dec. 25 at 9 p.m. CST (5 p.m. HST) on ESPN2.  There will be three consolation games that will precede the title contest at 1 p.m. CST (9 a.m. HST; seventh-place game), 3:30 p.m. CST (11:30 a.m. HST; fifth-place game, ESPNU) and 6:30 p.m. CST (2:30 p.m. HST; third-place game, ESPN2), respectively.

The three-day, three-game tournament includes six postseason participants from a year ago, including Clemson (NCAA Tournament), Hawai’i (CIT), Long Beach State (NIT), Texas-El Paso (NIT) and Xavier (NCAA).  

K-State is 6-0 all-time against SIU with the last meeting coming at Ahearn Field House in Manhattan, on Jan. 3, 1983.  This will be the first match-up on a neutral court in series history with four of the previous meetings coming in Manhattan and two others in Carbondale, Ill.  The Salukis return five lettermen and two starters from a team that posted a 13-19 overall record, including a 5-13 mark in Missouri Valley Conference play, in 2010-11.

The Wildcats are 1-1 all-time against Clemson in school history, including a 79-45 loss in their last visit to the Hawaiian Islands at the 1998 Maui Invitational.  The squad holds a 2-1 edge over UTEP, including a memorable win in the 1964 NCAA Tournament.  The Tigers won 22 games and advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 2010-11 under first-year head coach Brad Brownell, while the Miners captured 25 victories en route to a NIT bid under first-year head coach Tim Floyd.     

This will mark the Wildcats’ fourth in-season trip to Hawaii, which includes participation in the 1985 and 1998 Maui Invitationals and a 1993 trip to the University of Hawaii.  The team is 3-3 all-time on the island.   

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, Inc., (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.  ESPN Regional Television markets and/or owns several college basketball events, including the 76 Classic, Charleston Classic, DIRECTV SEC/BIG EAST Invitational, Puerto Rico Tip-Off, Lane Furniture All-College Basketball Classic and BracketBusters.  

For more information on the Classic, please visit www.diamondheadclassic.com/ or follow it on Twitter at DiamondHeadClsc.