Three Wildcats to Play in Medal of Honor Bowl

MANHATTAN, Kan. -- Three Kansas State seniors - quarterback Jake Waters, wide receiver Curry Sexton and defensive end Ryan Mueller - will compete in the Medal of Honor Bowl, a postseason all-star game at Johnson Hagood Stadium in Charleston, South Carolina, on Saturday. The game kicks off at 1:30 p.m. (CT), and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

All three Wildcats will play for the American team coached by Willie Jeffries, who held a 180-132-6 career record between stops at South Carolina State (1973-78, 1989-2001), Wichita State (1979-83) and Howard (1984-88).

Waters broke the Kansas State single-season record for passing yardage in 2014 with 3,501 yards on 262-of-397 aim while tossing 22 touchdown passes. A Second Team All-Big 12 performer, Waters also set the school records for season and career completion percentage at 65.99-percent and 64.08-percent, respectively. The Council Bluffs, Iowa, product rushed for 484 yards and nine touchdowns in 2014, including 100-yard games against Iowa State (138) and Texas Tech (105).

A product of Abilene, Kansas, Sexton had a banner year by hauling in 79 receptions for 1,059 yards and five touchdowns after entering his senior campaign with three-year career totals of 50 catches, 564 yards and one touchdown. The 2014 Second Team All-Big 12 performer carded the ninth 1,000-yard season in K-State history and teamed with Tyler Lockett to give the Wildcats two 1,000-yard receivers in the same season for the first time in school history.

Mueller finished the season with 40 tackles, including 11 for loss and six sacks. The First Team All-Big 12 performer finished his career with 20 sacks to tie for sixth in school history, 11.5 of which came in 2013 when he tied the single-season school record and was named the Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year.

In addition to the three Wildcats playing in the Medal of Honor Bowl, B.J. Finney will play in the East-West Shrine Game on January 17, and Lockett will play in the Reese's Senior Bowl on January 24.