Football Names Player Reps for 2013 Season

Ty Zimmerman

Feb. 11, 2013

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State head football coach Bill Snyder announced today that 14 Wildcats have been named player representatives for the 2013 season.

Travis Britz, B.J. Finney, Marcus Heit, John Hubert, Mark Krause, Tyler Lockett, Cornelius Lucas, Ryan Mueller, Curry Sexton, Blake Slaughter, Tramaine Thompson, Jonathan Truman, Tre Walker and Ty Zimmerman were chosen by their teammates to serve as player representatives for the program in 2013.

The role of these leaders will be to promote those traits which they each possess: unselfishness, team concepts, unity, strong work habits, great attitude and a strong commitment toward achieving success through the team’s 16 goals.

“I appreciate not only these young men who have demonstrated caring leadership capabilities, but also our entire body of players for unselfishly selecting quality leadership for their team,” Snyder said. “This group of football student-athletes consists of players who have demonstrated that they are committed to being the best possible individuals, students, athletes and teammates they can possibly be as well as truly caring about helping guide their teammates to the same end.”

K-State, which opens spring practice April 3, is coming off a 2012 season that saw the Wildcats earn their third conference title in school history while advancing to a BCS bowl for the second time in school history. The Cats also return six All-Big 12 performers and two All-America selections from last year’s 11-2 team.

Following the annual spring game on April 27, the Wildcats will host two-time defending FCS champion North Dakota State in the 2013 season opener, which also will mark the opening of the new West Stadium Center at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. Ticket information for the 2013 season will be released in the coming weeks.