Football Names Player Reps for 2012 Season

Arthur Brown

Feb. 20, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State head football coach Bill Snyder announced today that 14 Wildcats have been named player representatives for the 2012 season.

Arthur Brown, Anthony Cantele, Ryan Doerr, B.J. Finney, Chris Harper, Collin Klein, Vai Lutui, Nigel Malone, Curry Sexton, Travis Tannahill, Tre Walker, Meshak Williams, Braden Wilson and Ty Zimmerman were chosen by their teammates to serve as player representatives for the program in 2012.

The role of these leaders will be to promote those traits which they each possess: unselfishness, team concepts, unity, strong work habits, great attitude and a strong commitment toward achieving success.

“I appreciate not only these young men who have demonstrated caring leadership capabilities, but also our entire body of players for unselfishly selecting quality leadership for their team,” Snyder said. “This group of 14 football student-athletes consists of players who have demonstrated that they are committed to being the best possible individuals, students, athletes and teammates they can possibly be as well as truly caring about helping guide their teammates to the same end.”

The Wildcat program is built upon the traits of achieving success both on the field and in the classroom. Last season, the Wildcats placed 12 total players on All-Big 12 squads, while 16 players also earned Academic All-Big 12 honors, including Academic All-American and Campbell Trophy finalist Tysyn Hartman.

K-State, which opens spring practice April 4, returns eight starters on offense, six on defense and both kickers from its 10-3 squad that advanced to the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic in 2011. The Wildcats will be led by All-America candidates Collin Klein (QB) and Arthur Brown (LB), while 2011 Walter Camp All-Americans Nigel Malone (DB) and Tyler Lockett (KR/WR) also return.

K-State opens the 2012 season September 1 with a home game against Missouri State.