Seiwert Named to NFF Honor Society

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State’s Darrin Seiwert has been named to the 2009 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced Thursday.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better during their collegiate careers. A total of 564 players from 266 schools qualified for membership in the society's third year, a 27-percent increase from the 2008 class. In its inaugural year in 2007, the Hampshire Honor Society honored over 300 students from 195 schools.

Seiwert, a 2008 graduate, was a reserve tight end for the Wildcats who also saw extensive action on special teams. A native of Conway Springs, Kan., Seiwert was a 2008 Academic All-Big 12 selection as well as a Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll pick after achieving a 3.767 grade-point average in agronomy.


Qualifications for membership in the inaugural NFF National Honor Society include being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $8.9 million to 708 top scholars and community leaders. Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 15 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.


Additionally, the Draddy Trophy, presented by HealthSouth, is given to one member of each year's class as the absolute best. The winner of the Draddy, claimed by Cal center Alex Mack in 2008, receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a stunning 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through, its chapter network, the NFF awards an additional $800,000 to local high school student- athletes, bringing the NFF's annual scholarship total to more than $1.1 million.