K-State Names Football Captains for 2013

BJ Finney will lead the Wildcats in 2013 as one of five captains for the season.

April 27, 2013

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State head football coach Bill Snyder has announced that center B.J. Finney, wide receiver Tyler Lockett, linebackers Blake Slaughter and Tre Walker and defensive back Ty Zimmerman have been named team captains for the 2013 season.

Finney and Zimmerman will serve as captains for the second straight year, while Lockett, Slaughter and Walker will be first-time captains in 2013 after being chosen by their teammates.

The Wildcats return 42 lettermen from last year’s 11-2 squad which is led by 2011 and 2012 Big 12 and National Coach of the Year Bill Snyder, who is in his 22nd season overall at Kansas State.

Kansas State also returns 11 starters in 2013, while a total of 18 returners have earned starts during their Wildcat career. The Wildcats return nine players from 2012 that earned midseason or postseason All-Big 12 honors from various media outlets, including returning All-Americans Zimmerman at safety and Lockett at kick returner/wide receiver.

K-State opens the 2013 season and the new West Stadium Center August 30 with a primetime, nationally-televised home game on FOX Sports 1 against North Dakota State.

Season tickets for the eight-game home schedule remain available. For more information regarding tickets, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or visit www.k-statesports.com.