Five Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

MANHATTAN, Kan. -- Kansas State's Weston Hiebert, Tyler Lockett, Zach Nemechek, Curry Sexton and Jake Waters were five of 817 players named to the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced Wednesday. The Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions who maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or better throughout their collegiate career.

"We continue to raise the bar each year for the number of student-athletes who qualify for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hampshire Honor Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field. We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence."

Hiebert, a team captain and agricultural economics major, was an Academic All-Big 12 selection while leading the Wildcats on special teams. The Goessel native finished his Wildcat career with 28 tackles, one forced fumble and a blocked punt against Baylor in 2013.

Lockett, a business management major, was a 2014 NFF National Scholar Athlete, the Big 12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year in addition to being an Academic All-Big 12 and Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll pick. On the field, Lockett was a 2014 Consensus All-American and Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year as the record-setting receiver and all-purpose player left K-State as one of the most decorated players in school history. He broke 17 records at K-State, including the career marks for receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns previously held by his father, Kevin. He became the first player in school history to earn All-America honors every year.

Nemechek, who earned his degree in life science/social science, was an Academic All-Big 12 selection who played in 50 games during his four year career, mainly as a blocking back and on special teams.

Sexton was a Second Team Academic All-American and Second Team All-Big 12 performer as a senior. Voted a team captain for the 2014 season, Sexton came away with 79 receptions for 1,059 yards and five touchdowns. He ranks fourth in school history in single-season catches and seventh in both single-season yards and career receptions (129).

Waters, a business management major, broke the Kansas State single-season record for passing yardage in 2014 with 3,501 yards on 262-of-397 aim while tossing 22 touchdown passes. A Second Team All-Big 12 performer and Academic All-Big 12 pick, Waters also set the school records for season and career completion percentage at 65.99-percent and 64.08-percent, respectively. The Council Bluffs, Iowa, product rushed for 484 yards and nine touchdowns in 2014, including 100-yard games against Iowa State (138) and Texas Tech (105).

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the 772 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

The initiative has honored 5,744 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007. The 278 schools represented in 2015 is a new high water mark, eclipsing the 267 schools in 2014. The total of 817 players in the 2015 class is the second-most in the program's history, only 21 behind the 838 honored last year.