Football Captains Named for 2012

Collin Klein

April 30, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State head football coach Bill Snyder has announced that quarterback Collin Klein, linebacker Arthur Brown, center B.J. Finney and defensive back Ty Zimmerman have been named team captains for the 2012 season.

Klein and Brown, both seniors, will serve as captains for the second straight year, while Finney, a sophomore, and Zimmerman, a junior, will be first-time captains in 2012 after being chosen by their teammates.

Snyder said he was very pleased with the selections and also encouraged that 30 different players received votes from their peers, including eight different players that recorded at least 20 votes from their teammates.

K-State returns eight starters on offense, six on defense and both kickers from its 10-3 squad that advanced to the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic in 2011. The Wildcats will be led by All-America candidates Collin Klein (QB) and Arthur Brown (LB), while 2011 Walter Camp All-Americans Nigel Malone (DB) and Tyler Lockett (KR/WR) also return.

K-State opens the 2012 season September 1 with a home game against Missouri State. Season tickets for the seven-game home schedule remain available. For more information regarding tickets, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or visit

Also, fans can visit to view the latest 2012 promotional video featuring the 16 Wildcat Goals for Success.