Player Reps and Captains Named for 2011

Tysyn Hartman

April 30, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State head football coach Bill Snyder announced today that 20 Wildcats have been named player representatives for the 2011 season, seven of which will also serve as team captains.

Clyde Aufner, Arthur Brown, Anthony Cantele, Ryan Doerr, B.J. Finney, David Garrett, Zach Hanson, Tysyn Hartman, Brian Hertzog, Alex Hrebec, Ray Kibble, Payton Kirk, Collin KleinEmmanuel Lamur, Sammuel Lamur, Brodrick Smith, Travis Tannahill, Tre Walker, Braden Wilson and Ty Zimmerman were chosen by their teammates to serve as player representatives for the program in 2011.

The role of these leaders will be to promote those traits which they each possess: unselfishness, team concepts, unity, strong work habits, great attitude and a strong commitment toward achieving success.

"These players have been selected by their teammates to join the Kansas State University Football Leadership Council as player representatives," said Snyder. "Each was selected not only for their commitment to the program and the principles for which it stands but also their willingness to live by and demonstrate those values along with the caring leadership they are providing their teammates. I am proud of each of them and equally as proud of their teammates for making these selections."

The Wildcat program is built upon the traits of achieving success both on the field and in the classroom. Last season the Wildcats had two All-American picks in Daniel Thomas and William Powell, while Thomas led the Big 12 in rushing for the second consecutive season. And, with the Cats' berth in the New Era Pinstripe Bowl, K-State was one of just two Big 12 schools and 14 across the nation to have its football team in a bowl game and both basketball programs in the NCAA Tournament last season.

In the classroom, K-State has led the Big 12 Conference in graduation rate for both football and all student-athletes in each of the last four years.

Also, Aufner, Brown, Garrett, Hartman, Klein and Emmanuel Lamur have been selected to serve as team captains for the 2011 season. Hartman, Klein and Lamur will serve in the role for the second straight year, while Aufner, Brown and Garrett will be first-time captains next season. Snyder also announced that senior linebacker Alex Hrebec will serve as an honorary captain for 2011.

K-State opens the 2011 season on September 3 as it hosts Eastern Kentucky for the third annual K-State Family Reunion. Season tickets are currently on sale for as little as $21 per game. Visit for more details including all ticket prices and options for an exciting seven-game home schedule.