Adams, Rohleder Named to NFF Honor Society

Kevin Rohleder

May 4, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State’s Corey Adams and Kevin Rohleder have been named to the 2011 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Hampshire Honor Society, the organization has announced.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better during their collegiate careers. A total of 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membership in the society's fifth year, while K-State placed multiple players on the list for the second straight season. K-State recorded a total of 14 student-athletes on the 2011 Academic All-Big 12 football team, while the Wildcats have held the No. 1 football and all-sports graduation rates in the Big 12 in each of the last four seasons.

Adams was flawless from his long-snapper position this past season and ended his Wildcat career with a streak of 482 perfect snaps. The Monument, Colo., native was a First Team All-American by Phil Steele and was K-State’s Special Teams MVP in both 2009 and 2010.

In the classroom, Adams was a First Team Academic All-Big 12 pick and also a semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy and a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award.

A native of Wichita, Rohleder was a two-time Academic All-Big 12 pick and was a four-year letterman at linebacker who played a significant role on special teams in addition to his play on defense.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF National Honor Society include being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 15 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.

Additionally, the Campbell Trophy is given to one member of each year's class as the absolute best. The winner of the Campbell Trophy, claimed by Texas’ Sam Acho last season, receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a stunning 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through its chapter network, the NFF awards an additional $1 million to local high school student- athletes, bringing the NFF's annual scholarship total to more than $1.3 million.