Campbell Named to Nagurski Watch List

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State senior defensive end Ian Campbell is one of eight Big 12 defenders to be named to the 2008 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, the Football Writers Association of America announced Monday.

The Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded annually to the best defensive player in college football, is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Campbell, a two-time team captain and All-Big 12 performer, enters his senior season as one of the top defensive linemen in school history and currently has 16.0 sacks and 28.5 tackles for loss over the last two seasons. The Cimarron native, who was also a candidate for the Nagurski Trophy a year ago, tied the single-season school record with 11.5 sacks in 2006 and currently needs just two more sacks to enter the school’s top 10 career list.


Last season, Campbell totaled 45 tackles, including a team-best 11 tackles for loss and a Big 12-best four fumble recoveries. The defensive end also recorded 4.5 sacks and one interception, in which he returned for a score in a win at No. 7 Texas.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in November. The watch list was developed by the FWAA All-America committee with the help of the schools and conferences.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club will hold the 2008 banquet on Sunday, Dec. 7, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. For the eighth straight season, the FWAA will also pick a Bronko Nagurski Defensive Player of the Week beginning with games on Aug. 30 and running through the middle of November.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been presented since 1993 and is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, a former All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for the Chicago Bears in the 1930s.