Zimmerman Named to Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

Ty Zimmerman was one of 42 players to be named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List on Thursday.

May 16, 2013

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior defensive back Ty Zimmerman was one of 42 players to be named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List in an announcement by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation on Thursday.

The 42 student-athletes from 37 different colleges around the country, including seven from Big 12 schools, represent players who have made the biggest IMPACT on their teams both on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Voting for the award is held throughout the season by a National Voter Panel of former college coaches and players, select members of the media, past winners of the award and the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the sponsors of the award.

The award is unique because it represents the first trophy to give equal weight to personal character as well as athletic performance from a defensive college player and is the first national college football award based on the West Coast.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy was named in honor of Ronnie Lott - a two time All -American for USC and College Football Hall of Fame inductee. Ronnie Lott went on to win four Super Bowl rings with the San Francisco 49ers, 10 trips to the Pro Bowl and a spot in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Always known as a fierce competitor, he was a leader who had IMPACT both on and off the field.

Zimmerman was named an All-American for the first time in his career in 2012 with third team honors from the Associated Press and second team honors from CBSSports.com. A starting safety since his freshman season in 2010, Zimmerman made 50 tackles, including three for losses, while he picked off a career-best five passes in just 10 games. His five interceptions tied for third in the Big 12 and ranked 10th nationally.

The Junction City, Kan., product garnered All-Big 12 First Team honors from the league’s coaches and the Associated Press for the first time in his career in 2012. Zimmerman, a team captain for the 2012 and 2013 seasons, notched an interception in four-straight games in 2012 (Oklahoma, Kansas, Iowa State, West Virginia), the longest streak by a Wildcat since at least 1989. He improved his career interception total to 10, which ranks tied for seventh in school history.

Zimmerman’s inclusion on this season’s watch list marks the second straight season a Wildcat has earned the distinction, as former linebacker Arthur Brown became K-State’s first finalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy last season.

The Wildcats return 42 lettermen from last year’s 11-2 squad which is led by 2011 and 2012 Big 12 and National Coach of the Year Bill Snyder, who is in his 22nd season overall at Kansas State.

Kansas State also returns 11 starters in 2013, while a total of 18 returners have earned starts during their Wildcat career. The Wildcats return nine players from 2012 that earned midseason or postseason All-Big 12 honors from various media outlets, including returning All-Americans Zimmerman and Tyler Lockett at kick returner/wide receiver.

K-State opens the 2013 season and the new West Stadium Center August 30 with a primetime, nationally-televised home game on FOX Sports 1 against North Dakota State.

Season tickets for the eight-game home schedule remain available. For more information regarding tickets, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or visit www.k-statesports.com.

Lott IMPACT Trophy 2013 Watch List
Henry Anderson, DL, Stanford
Geoffrey Bacon, LB, Army
Calvin Barnett, DL, Oklahoma State  
Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA  
Nat Behre, DB, San Diego State
Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin
Max Bullough, LB, Michigan State
Ibraheim Campbell, DB, Northwestern
Ross Cockrell, CB, Duke
Aaron Colvin, CB, Oklahoma
Scott Crichton, DL, Oregon State
Alden Darby, DB, Arizona State   
Aaron Donald, DL, Pitt
Steele DiVitto, LB, Boston College
Ahmad Dixon, S, Baylor  
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, CB, Oregon
Antone Exum, CB, Virginia Tech
Jake Fischer, LB, Arizona
Chase Garnham, LB, Vanderbilt
Bryce Hager, LB, Baylor
Jackson Jeffcoat, DE, Texas
A.J. Johnson, LB, Tennessee
Lamarcus Joyner, S/CB, Florida State
Eric Kendricks, LB, UCLA
Devon Kennard, DL, USC
James Morris, LB, Iowa  
C.J. Moseley, LB, Alabama
Damien Proby, LB, Northwestern
Ed Reynolds, S, Stanford
Bradley Roby, CB, Ohio State
D.T. Shackleford, LB, Ole Miss
Ryan Shazier, LB, Ohio State
Danny Shelton, DT, Washington
Spencer Shuey, LB, Clemson
Derron Smith, DB, Fresno State
John Timu, LB, Washington  
Stephon Tuitt, DE, Notre Dame
Jack Tyler, LB, Virginia Tech
Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU
Jason Verrett, CB, TCU
Avery Williamson, LB, Kentucky
Ty Zimmerman, S, Kansas State