Waters Named to Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior quarterback Jake Waters was named to the watch list for the 2014 Davey O’Brien Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s best quarterback, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Wednesday.

Waters, who was one of 39 players nationally and five from the Big 12 to be named a candidate for the honor, joins a list of prominent K-State quarterbacks who have received consideration for the honor. Chad May and Matt Miller were each one of 10 finalists in 1994 and 1995, respectively, prior to Michael Bishop winning the award in 1998. Most recently, Collin Klein was one of three finalists in 2012.

The honor was the second for Waters this preseason as he was a member of the Maxwell Award watch list, while he picked up the Wildcats’ 15th major college football award candidacy.

A product of Council Bluffs, Iowa, Waters threw for 2,469 yards with 18 touchdowns and nine on 159-of-260 (61.2 percent) aim during his initial season in Manhattan last year. The former community-college transfer played his best during the Wildcats’ 6-1 record over the final seven contests when he threw for just over 200 yards per game with 14 touchdowns and only four interceptions.

Waters, who enters his senior campaign with the top career passing efficiency rating (156.8) in school history, ranked fourth nationally in yards per completion (15.53) and 14th in passing efficiency in 2013. He also finished third in the Big 12 in passing yards per game (189.9) and total offense per game (213.9).

The Davey O’Brien Foundation will announce semifinalists for the award on November 3, and three finalists on November 24. The winner of the award will be announced live on December 11 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

The Wildcats kick off the 2014 season on August 30, with a 6:10 p.m., contest against Stephen F. Austin at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. The game serves as the sixth-annual K-State Family Reunion and will be broadcast world-wide on K-StateHD.TV.

Season tickets for the 2014 campaign are sold out, while only a small number of scattered singles remain for the Texas Tech (Oct. 4), Texas (Oct. 25) and Oklahoma State (Nov. 1) contests. Standing-room only tickets are available for games against Stephen F. Austin, UTEP, Texas, Oklahoma State and Kansas.

Visiting teams will also have opportunities to return unused tickets up to a month prior to their visit. Stay tuned to www.kstatesports.com for information regarding returned ticket availability. All returned tickets will be sold at the full public rate and season ticket wait list accounts will have first opportunity to purchase. Fans can now join the 2015 waiting list online or by contacting the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or by visiting www.k-statesports.com/tickets.

Wildcats on Preseason Watch Lists
Jack Cantele – Lou Groza Award
B.J. Finney – Outland Trophy, Rimington Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award
Tyler Lockett – Maxwell Award, Paul Hornung Award, Biletnikoff Award
Ryan Mueller – Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Lott IMPACT Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award
Jake Waters – Maxwell Award, Davey O’Brien Award
Cody Whitehair – Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award