Brown Named to Lombardi Award Watch List

Arthur Brown

July 17, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – For the fourth time during the preseason, Kansas State linebacker Arthur Brown was included on a preseason watch list as the senior is a candidate for the Rotary Lombardi Award, the Rotary Club of Houston has announced.

Brown is the eighth player in school history up for the award, which honors the nation’s top college lineman or linebacker each year. The Wichita, Kan., product was also named to the Bednarik Award, Butkus Award and Nagurski Trophy watch lists over the past two weeks. His candidacy for the four major college football awards is tied for the single-season school record (Chris Canty, 1996).

With Brown’s inclusion on the Lombardi Award watch list, K-State pushed its total to nine candidates for major college football awards this year, the second-most in school history behind the 1998 squad (11).

A product of Wichita, Kan., Brown registered a solid junior campaign in 2011 as he tallied 101 tackles, including 9.5 for loss. He was named an honorable mention All-American by Sports Illustrated and was the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year as well as a First Team All-Big 12 performer.

A top 25 list of quarterfinalists for the Lombardi Award will be announced on October 6, while the list will be trimmed to seven semifinalists on October 27 and four finalists on November 19. The winner of the 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award will be announced on Wednesday, December 5, at The Hobby Center in Houston, Texas.

Kansas State opens the 2012 campaign on September 1, against Missouri State – which serves as the fourth annual K-State Family Reunion – at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. A four-pack of tickets can be purchased by August 1 for $75 for both the contest against the Bears and the North Texas game on September 15.

Tickets for the highly-anticipated matchup with Miami on September 8 are also going fast but remain available for $75 (bench seating) and $85 (premium bench seating). For more information on season or single-game tickets, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or visit

K-State on Preseason Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Butkus Award (Arthur Brown)
Rotary Lombardi Award (Arthur Brown)
Maxwell Award (Collin Klein)
Bronko Nagurski Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Rimington Trophy (BJ Finney)
Jim Thorpe Award (Nigel Malone)