Hubert Placed on Doak Walker Award Watch List

John Hubert

July 19, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State junior running back John Hubert was one of 52 players nationally and one of seven from the Big 12 named to the 2012 Doak Walker Award preseason watch list, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Thursday.

Hubert’s selection to the watch list marks the 12th time in school history a Wildcat is up for the award, joining the likes of two-time candidate J.J. Smith (1993, 1994), 2003 runner-up and 2004 candidate Darren Sproles, 2009 candidate and 2010 semifinalist Daniel Thomas, among others.

Hubert pushed K-State’s preseason total of National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) candidates to 11, tying the 1998 squad for the most in school history.

In his first season as the starter, Hubert and quarterback Collin Klein provided an effective one-two punch in the K-State running attack. The Waco, Texas, native rushed for 970 yards to rank seventh in the Big 12 to go along with three touchdowns on 200 carries. His rushing total also ranked third in school history by a sophomore, while he enters his junior season two yards shy of becoming the school’s 25th career 1,000-yard rusher.

Hubert, who also caught 24 passes for 188 yards and a touchdown, was a 2011 Midseason All-Big 12 performer by Phil Steele, while he is a preseason All-Big 12 selection by Phil Steele and Lindy’s.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 9, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 19. The recipient of the 2012 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday, December 6, on ESPN.

Kansas State hosts Missouri State at Bill Snyder Family Stadium on Saturday, September 1, which serves as the fourth annual K-State Family Reunion. A four-pack of tickets for the contest against the Bears, as well as the North Texas contest on September 15, can be purchased for $75 by August 1.

Fans can purchase tickets for the highly-anticipated matchup against the University of Miami on September 8 for $75 (bench seating) and $85 (premium bench seating). For more information on season or single-game tickets, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or visit

K-State on Preseason Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Butkus Award (Arthur Brown)
Rotary Lombardi Award (Arthur Brown)
Maxwell Award (Collin Klein)
Bronko Nagurski Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Davey O’Brien Award (Collin Klein)
Rimington Trophy (BJ Finney)
Jim Thorpe Award (Nigel Malone)
Doak Walker Award (John Hubert)