Campbell, Watts Named Preseason All-Big 12

IRVING, Texas Kansas State defensive standouts Ian Campbell and Marcus Watts have been named to the 2007 Preseason All-Big 12 team, according to the results of the annual preseason media survey conducted by the conference office.


Campbell, a preseason All-America and national award candidate, is coming off an incredible sophomore campaign and is one of just four returning players nationally to record at least 11.5 sacks and 17.5 tackles for losses in 2006.


Last season, Campbell was among the nation’s top pass rushers and earned All-Big 12 and All-American honors after totaling 67 tackles, 17.5 for losses, with 11.5 sacks. His 11.5 sacks tied the Kansas State single-season record and ranked second in the Big 12 Conference and 10th nationally. Campbell, a Cimarron native, collected at least one sack in nine of 13 total games last season.


Watts, a 2006 All-Big 12 performer, played in the first eight games at safety last season, starting four, before an injury sidelined him for the remainder of the regular season. The ESPN All-Mayday selection still managed to have enough of an impact to earn second team All-Big 12 honors from both the league’s coaches and the Kansas City Star after finishing the season with 26 tackles, including three tackles for losses and two sacks. The Hays native led the Wildcats with three interceptions, forced two fumbles and blocked a punt that was returned for a touchdown.


In the preseason specialty awards, Colt McCoy (Texas) was named Preseason Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, Reggie Smith (Oklahoma) was selected Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and Sam Keller (Nebraska) was chosen Preseason Newcomer of the Year.


Kansas State will participate in the annual Big 12 Football Media Days on Wednesday, July 25, in San Antonio, Texas, before opening the 2007 season Sept. 1 in a nationally-televised contest at Auburn.


2007 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team (Media Vote)


Offensive Player of the Year: Colt McCoy, QB, Texas

Defensive Player of the Year: Reggie Smith, DB, Oklahoma

Newcomer of the Year: Sam Keller, QB, Nebraska



WR    Adarius Bowman, Oklahoma State             

TE     Martin Rucker, Missouri     

OL     Tony Hills, Texas

OL     Duke Robinson, Oklahoma 

  C     Cody Wallace, Texas A&M

OL     Matt Slauson, Nebraska

OL     Anthony Collins, Kansas

WR    Limas Sweed, Texas

QB     Colt McCoy, Texas

RB     Jamaal Charles, Texas

RB     Mike Goodson, Texas A&M 

PK     Garrett Hartley, Oklahoma

KR     Perrish Cox, Oklahoma State



DL     Ian Campbell, Kansas State

DL     Frank Okam, Texas

DL     Chris Harrington, Texas A&M

DL     James McClinton, Kansas

DL     Derek Lokey, Texas

LB     Bo Ruud, Nebraska

LB     Alvin Bowen, Iowa State

LB     Jordon Dizon, Colorado

DB     Reggie Smith, Oklahoma

DB     Aqib Talib, Kansas

DB     Marcus Watts, Kansas State

DB     Marcus Griffin, Texas

   P     Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State

PR     Reggie Smith, Oklahoma