Klein Named a Manning Award Candidate

Collin Klein

July 21, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Although the announcements of National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) watch lists came to an end on Friday, Kansas State still picked up another preseason award nomination over the weekend as quarterback Collin Klein was named to the Manning Award watch list, the Allstate Sugar Bowl announced.

Klein’s candidacy for the award – which honors the nation’s top quarterback – pushes the Wildcats’ school-record total to 15 candidates for major college football awards, four more than the previous school record of 11 set by the 1998 squad. The Loveland, Colo., product was one of five Big 12 quarterbacks named to the list and one of 25 nationally.

Klein is the first quarterback in school history in the running for the award, which handed out its first trophy following the 2004 season. It is Klein’s third inclusion on a preseason award watch list this season after being honored by the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien Awards.

The preseason watch list for the Manning Award recognizes top quarterbacks in the nation based on previous collegiate performance, while every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. A list of 10 finalists will be released on Monday, November 26, while the winner will be announced on Wednesday, January 9, 2013.

Klein registered one of the best all-around seasons in school history during the 2011 campaign as he led the Wildcats to a 10-3 record and berth in the AT&T Cotton Bowl. Considered by many the toughest player in college football last season, Klein tied a Big 12 record and set the FBS quarterback record with 27 rushing touchdowns to go along with his 1,141 rushing yards. The signal caller was also effective through the air as he connected on 161-of-281 pass attempts for 1,918 yards and 13 touchdowns.

An honorable mention All-American by Sports Illustrated and a First Team All-Big 12 performer by the Associated Press, Klein ranked seventh in school history and first among quarterbacks in rushing yards, while he led the Big 12 with 317 rushing attempts, 67 more than the player in second place.

Klein, along with teammates Arthur Brown, Tre Walker and Ty Zimmerman, will join head coach Bill Snyder Monday in Dallas at the annual Big 12 Conference football media days. Follow the day’s activities on Twitter (@kstatesports) as well as online at k-statesports.com and big12sports.com.

The Wildcats’ 2012 season kicks off at 6 p.m., on Saturday, September 1, as K-State hosts Missouri State at Bill Snyder Family Stadium for the fourth annual K-State Family Reunion. A four-pack of tickets for the game, as well as the September 15 contest against North Texas, can be purchased by August 1 for $75. The game against the Mean Green also begins at 6 p.m.

Fans can also purchase tickets for the highly-anticipated matchup against the University of Miami, which will kick off at 11 a.m., on September 8, for $75 (bench seating) and $85 (premium bench seating). For more information on season or single-game tickets, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or visit www.k-statesports.com/tickets.

K-State on Preseason Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Butkus Award (Arthur Brown)
Walter Camp Award (Arthur Brown, Tyler Lockett, Nigel Malone)
Rotary Lombardi Award (Arthur Brown)
Manning Award (Collin Klein)
Maxwell Award (Collin Klein)
Bronko Nagurski Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Davey O’Brien Award (Collin Klein)
Rimington Trophy (BJ Finney)
Jim Thorpe Award (Nigel Malone)
Doak Walker Award (John Hubert)