Mastrud Up for Two National Awards

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior tight end Jeron Mastrud has been named a candidate for both the John Mackey Award and the Allstate/American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team.


Mastrud was one of 30 tight ends across the country named to the initial 2009 John Mackey Award watch list. The award, which is presented by the Nassau County Sports Commission, is given annually to the best collegiate tight end. Mastrud was one of five tight ends from the Big 12 on the watch list.


Each of the previous eight winners of the John Mackey Award are currently in the NFL, including Dallas Clark (2001; Indianapolis), Daniel Graham (2002; Denver), Kellen Winslow II (2003; Tampa Bay), Heath Miller (2004; Pittsburgh), Marcedes Lewis (2005; Jacksonville), Matt Spaeth (2006; Pittsburgh), Fred Davis (2007; Washington) and Chase Coffman (2008; Cincinnati).


Mastrud was also named a nominee for the Allstate/AFCA Good Works Team, which honors college football players who make outstanding contributions in the areas of volunteerism and civic involvement.


The 2009 list includes 106 nominees from both the Football Bowl Subdivision and the Football Championship Subdivision, which is the largest nominee list in the 18-year history of the award.


Mastrud, who is a three-year member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, has participated in various community service activities while at K-State, including Cats for Cans, Read to Achieve, Walkin’ with a Wildcat, Adopt-a-Family, while he also assisted with cleanup after a tornado damaged a Manhattan community last June.


The Beaverton, Ore., product has also been stellar in the classroom as he is a two-time First Team Academic All-Big 12 selection and was named to the academic all-district and all-American teams in 2008.


Mastrud and the Wildcats begin the 2009 season against Massachusetts on Sept. 5 at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. Both season and single-game tickets for the 2009 football season remain available to the general public, including individual tickets for as low as $20 for the UMass game. The most convenient way to order is online at Tickets may also be purchased in person at the K-State Athletic Ticket Office in Bramlage Coliseum or by calling, 1-800-221-CATS.


Player (Year, School)

Jeffrey Anderson (Jr., UAB)

Jake Ballard (Sr., Ohio State)

Greg Boone (Sr., Virginia Tech)

Nate Byham (Sr., Pittsburgh)

Jeff Cottam (Sr., Tennessee)

Ed Dickson (Sr., Oregon)

Richard Dickson (Sr., LSU)

TC Drake (Sr., Kentucky)

Charlie Gantt (Jr., Michigan State)

Riar Geer (Sr., Colorado)

Garrett Graham (Sr., Wisconsin)

Jermaine Gresham (Sr., Oklahoma)

Rob Gronkowski (Jr., Arizona)

Aaron Hernandez (Jr., Florida)

Mike Hoomanawanui (Sr., Illinois)

Blaine Irby (Jr., Texas)


Anthony McCoy (Sr., USC)

Mike McNeil (Sr., Iowa)

Tony Moeaki (Jr., Nebraska)

Ryan Moya (Sr., UCLA)

Logan Paulsen (Sr., UCLA)

Dennis Pitta (Sr., BYU)

Andrew Quarless (Jr., Penn State)

Kyle Rudolph (Sr., Notre Dame)

Weslye Saunders (Jr., South Carolina)

Cody Slate (Jr., Marshall)

Tommy Trott (Sr., Auburn)

DJ Williams (Jr., Arkansas)

Ben Wooster (Sr., Wake Forest)